Author Topic: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... New versions are out.  (Read 12231 times)

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... New versions are out.
« on: July 31, 2006, 12:07:30 PM »
Hi all,

We're aware of the current widget issue (not showing any data at all). The problem will be corrected ASAP.

Cheers,
Marc.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2006, 10:12:45 PM by marc@iSlayer »

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2006, 04:03:34 PM »
We've found the issue. It was actually a JavaScript bug. Still, it doesn't help anyone's widget knowing that it wasn't our fault!

We'll have an update released VERY soon. Your widget will prompt you to download the new version when it's available, so please keep it open.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2006, 04:11:53 PM by marc@iSlayer »

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2006, 05:50:29 PM »
There's a new version of the IceTV widget. Please download it now.

http://www.icetv.com.au/widgetdownload.php

Offline mcarter

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2006, 07:04:37 PM »
Just downloaded and tried to install widget for dashboard. Shows up as a folder called "IceTV Mac Edition.widget". Even if you change the extension to wdgt, it still is not recognised as a widget. Any ideas?

goldcoastguy

  • Guest
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2006, 07:26:51 PM »
The icon bug for the Gold Coast is mostly fixed.

The logo for Prime still doesn't work.

The logo for NBN appears as 9.


http://www.evandavis.id.au/dtv/icewidget.jpg


Evan :->

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2006, 07:48:58 PM »
Just downloaded and tried to install widget for dashboard. Shows up as a folder called "IceTV Mac Edition.widget". Even if you change the extension to wdgt, it still is not recognised as a widget. Any ideas?
Please try the download link again:
Grab it here!

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2006, 07:52:27 PM »
The icon bug for the Gold Coast is mostly fixed.

The logo for Prime still doesn't work.

The logo for NBN appears as 9.


http://www.evandavis.id.au/dtv/icewidget.jpg


Evan :->
Thanks Evan. I'm glad to hear we grabbed most of it. We obviously had to get the update out pretty fast! We'll make sure we get the rest of it next time.

Offline hitcho

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2006, 08:23:14 PM »
After downloading of the new Widget (fixing the JavaScript issue) and installation over the top and then removing of the preferences after it still didn't work and restarting Dashboard totally I still have a broken Widget.

Taken from the IceTV.log:

/SourceCache/JavaScriptCore/JavaScriptCore-418.3/bindings/objc/WebScriptObject.mm:276:[21522]  JavaScript exception:  Undefined value


Offline mcarter

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2006, 08:39:36 PM »
Just downloaded and tried to install widget for dashboard. Shows up as a folder called "IceTV Mac Edition.widget". Even if you change the extension to wdgt, it still is not recognised as a widget. Any ideas?
Please try the download link again:
Grab it here!

Thanks. Widget now installs OK but incorrectly reports password is wrong and then stalls when updating.

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2006, 10:42:41 PM »
I think I may know why... the IceTV server only allows a certain amount of fetches in any given hour. If you've exceeded that quota (because the widget was trying to continuously fetch), then even if the widget was ok, it wouldn't work because the server wouldn't let it. The solution for that is to wait until the next hour... then it should just come good.

For those that are still having problems, please let me know if that fixes it.

Offline mcarter

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... FIXED!
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2006, 07:43:27 AM »
I think I may know why... the IceTV server only allows a certain amount of fetches in any given hour. If you've exceeded that quota (because the widget was trying to continuously fetch), then even if the widget was ok, it wouldn't work because the server wouldn't let it. The solution for that is to wait until the next hour... then it should just come good.

For those that are still having problems, please let me know if that fixes it.

Widget is working fine the next day so it sounds like this was the problem. Thanks for your follow-up.

Offline pvogel

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Why the widget broke and appology
« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2006, 01:54:59 PM »
Yesterday we attributed the recent Widget problems to a bug in the way Java
parses "08" as octal by default.

It has been pointed out to us by a Java developer that this is not
really a "bug" but a feature of Java.

The wording of our email could have been better, it should really have
stated that the problem was related to differences in implementation
of the JavaScript function parseInt.

Since this issue came to light we have been investigating we have found
that the information regarding parseInt is not particularly consistent,
for instance Sun on the following pages

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.3/docs/api/java/lang/Integer.html#parseInt(java.lang.String)
http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/api/java/lang/Integer.html#parseInt(java.lang.String)

suggests that using parseInt( string ) defaults to base 10. Of course
this is Java, not JavaScript but much of the JavaScript language
syntax was borrowed from Java.

Netscape, says

http://wp.netscape.com/eng/mozilla/3.0/handbook/javascript/ref_m-q.htm#177816

Mozilla, in their developer documentation refer to the observed behavior
as deprecated.

We also found references from other web developers who have been hit by
the same issue e.g.

http://www.breakingpar.com/bkp/home.nsf/0/87256B280015193F87256C85006A6604

Feeling a little confused myself at this point we decided to check the
official standards documentation.

Standard ECMA-262 3rd Edition - December 1999, section 15.1.2.2
(parseInt) it states that if the radix is 0 then make it 10, and it
has the following note :-

"When radix is 0 or undefined and the string' s number begins with a 0
digit not followed by an x or X, then the implementation may, at its
discretion, interpret the number either as being octal or as being
decimal. Implementations are encouraged to interpret numbers in this
case as being decimal."

So, rather than being a black and white situation, the results are
implementation specific and in fact the standard suggests that
interpreting the number as decimal is the preferred case.

Unfortunately the developers working on the widgets
were unaware of the fact that parseInt, in some implementations, can
interpret certain strings as octal instead of decimal, unfortunately
this lead to a serious bug in the widgets. The bug only became
apparent now due to the month number being an invalid octal number.

Working with the information we had at hand at the time of the email
it looked to us as though this was a bug, now that we have had time to
dig into the issue more thoroughly we have determined that it is, as
stated earlier, a problem with an implementation specific feature of
parseInt.

We would of course have worded our email differently if we had had more time to fully investigate the issue before alerting our customers.

Peter Vogel
CTO IceTV

Offline pvogel

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... Another problem
« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2006, 02:09:29 PM »
A few users have reported there are still problems with the widget released yesterday
IceTV widget 1.21 for Windows (Yahoo! Widget Engine)
IceTV widget 1.22 for Mac OS X 10.4 (Dashboard)
IceTV widget 1.21 for Mac OS X (Yahoo! Widget Engine)

We think we have located the problems and expect to have new versions before the day is out.  You should be prompted automatically to update when these are put on our server.

Sorry for the inconvenience,

Peter Vogel
CTO IceTV

Offline pvogel

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... Another update due very soon.
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2006, 09:13:28 AM »
New versions of all widgets are now on our server and you should be prompted to update sometime today. If you restart your widget the prompt should be immediate.

Please report any problems in this forum.

Cheers

Peter Vogel

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Widget issue: Not working 31-7-06... Another update due very soon.
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2006, 10:04:37 PM »
Just to add to what Peter has said...

We're pretty sure everything's been sorted out now. It's been a hectic few days with a few false starts, but we're confident that the latest update solves all known issues.

Your widget should have prompted you to update, but if it hasn't, then please download the new versions from here:
http://www.icetv.com.au/widgetdownload.php

The latest and fully functioning version numbers are:
IceTV widget 1.22 for Windows (Yahoo! Widget Engine)
IceTV widget 1.24 for Mac OS X 10.4 (Dashboard)
IceTV widget 1.23 for Mac OS X (Yahoo! Widget Engine)

If you have an older version then I'd expect it to not be working! If anyone does have any problems then please email support@icetv.com.au.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Yahoo Widget still my favourite - any chance for a channel name update?

Started by JPP on Yahoo! Widget

4 Replies
4547 Views
Last post November 13, 2017, 11:58:44 PM
by yereverluvinunclebert
xx
Widget in Win10?

Started by csutak40 on Yahoo! Widget

6 Replies
4618 Views
Last post July 16, 2016, 10:35:22 AM
by JPP
xx
New channels names not showing up on Widget

Started by JPP on General Discussions

10 Replies
3347 Views
Last post March 10, 2016, 09:17:52 PM
by JPP
xx
Yahoo Widget randomly disappearing from screen

Started by JPP on Yahoo! Widget

2 Replies
2221 Views
Last post June 12, 2015, 02:53:11 PM
by JPP