Author Topic: Widget in Win10?  (Read 896 times)

Offline csutak40

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 990
    • View Profile
Widget in Win10?
« on: July 14, 2016, 06:56:31 PM »
I just took a deep breath and updated my laptop to Win10.  That is the computer that I have still been using the widget on.  I really like it and would miss it.  The shortcut that used  to open it seems to have completely disappeared.
Before I waste too much time attempting to re-install it etc., thought I'd ask here if it is working for anyone in Win10?
About to update my desktop computer as well, that has WMC on it - that is when the fun and games begin!
Cheers,
Judy
IceBox2;Windows 7 Media Center;Topfield5000PVRt; Last Update Feb 20 2006; PBK10.15; EPG_Uploader3.26beta6; JustEPG16.3c; mcgCYRResume1.0; and TEDS 7.10.1.512; Beyonwiz T4, T2

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 08:00:15 PM »
Hi Judy,

I don't know if the widget works in Windows 10 or not. Installing the yahoo widget engine in Windows 10 may be the impossible part.

Since the server move 2 weeks ago you may find that the old widget won't authorise.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline csutak40

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 990
    • View Profile
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2016, 03:16:39 AM »
Hi Judy,

I don't know if the widget works in Windows 10 or not. Installing the yahoo widget engine in Windows 10 may be the impossible part.

Since the server move 2 weeks ago you may find that the old widget won't authorise.

Well, I am pleased to report that it works!  (sort of - looks a bit blurry)

I was about to reply that about 2 weeks ago, it did demand that I re-authorise it, but that worked.   I thought I'd try installing it again before replying.  Didn't even have to install it - seems it is only the shortcut that went AWOL   (among quite a few others - HATE Win10 already!)

Did have to authiorise it again, but it is all there an accounted for  ;D

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2016, 06:29:33 PM »
Yes, I too can confirm that it works in WIN 10  :).

But, like you, I'm still tearing my hair out over some issues like not being able to set up iCloud in Office Outlook 2010 where it refuses to install claiming I have an invalid user name or password. Have tried all manner of fixes as found on Google, but so far all to no avail.... Hoping that an inspiration might suddenly spring up in one of my dreams...
Phil.
Topfield TRF 2400 x 2, Beyonwiz T2, DVDO Duo Video Processor

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2016, 09:26:42 PM »
Hoping that an inspiration might suddenly spring up in one of my dreams...

Inspiration... go back to Win7 where everything just works  8)

Offline csutak40

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 990
    • View Profile
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2016, 11:30:34 PM »
Hoping that an inspiration might suddenly spring up in one of my dreams...

Inspiration... go back to Win7 where everything just works  8)

LOL.  I spent the last couple of days upgrading computers...  (not just mine)  HATE WIN10!!!!!  I may have to take your advice, the update fell over on my desktop (the one with WMC on it), so it may end up staying Win7  :-)
Will give it  one more try...  manana

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 383
    • View Profile
Re: Widget in Win10?
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2016, 10:35:22 AM »
Hoping that an inspiration might suddenly spring up in one of my dreams...

Inspiration... go back to Win7 where everything just works  8)
Yeah, I did just that on my main PC  ;D. Will see if I can solve the issue on my notebook that's on Win10 before contemplating yet another try on my PC.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Yahoo Widget still my favourite - any chance for a channel name update?

Started by JPP on Yahoo! Widget

4 Replies
440 Views
Last post November 13, 2017, 11:58:44 PM
by yereverluvinunclebert
xx
New channels names not showing up on Widget

Started by JPP on General Discussions

10 Replies
1490 Views
Last post March 10, 2016, 09:17:52 PM
by JPP
xx
Yahoo Widget randomly disappearing from screen

Started by JPP on Yahoo! Widget

2 Replies
908 Views
Last post June 12, 2015, 02:53:11 PM
by JPP
question
All channel icons missing from widget

Started by neilh on Widget for Mac OSX Dashboard

5 Replies
2575 Views
Last post September 30, 2014, 10:50:05 PM
by neilh