Author Topic: interactive wont launch on windows startup  (Read 4130 times)

Offline dwebkombi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
interactive wont launch on windows startup
« on: January 05, 2010, 10:08:37 AM »
Hi,
I am running windows7. Interactive works and remotely records only if I manually start the icetv program to get the icon in the system tray.
However it will not launch itself on startup. I have ticked the startup box etc in the ice options.
i also went to startup in msconfig but icetv was not listed in the startup programs nor could I see how to add it there.

any help would be great

Offline dragonfly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 10:45:35 PM »
Same issue - I think its a bug,  in the mean time I have a shortcut in the start menu - waiting comment from Ice team on this one.

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 10:01:50 AM »
Sounds like you aren't administrator users on your Windows7 machines to me?   I have mine setup as an administrator user and it all works fine, but your symptoms kind of sound like what might happen if you try to set it up as a non-admin user.
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

Offline cam

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 01:32:09 PM »
I've now noticed the same thing.

Originally, IceTV was working fine on my PC.  That was on a build that I did some time ago.  As I'd tried a couple of graphics cards, and wanted to do a fresh install of the drivers, I reinstalled software on the machine.  My starting point was the image that I took of the previous installation, at the point where Win7 had just been installed (i.e. I'm using the same Windows login now as I was originally).  From there, I set up media centre and installed IceTV 3.0.0.7 (I didn't keep the old installers).  Now I notice what you've noticed: IceTV won't start up automatically on login/boot.

My suspicion is that something has changed in the current IceTV installer.  Because my previous software build had been based on the original IceTV installer (back to the second beta), I had been fortunate in that as I upgraded, the auto-start feature was left in place my computer.  Now, on my new build, I've lost that as I can only access the 3.0.0.7 installer.

If anyone knows where the previous versions of the IceTV installers are archived, that info would be much appreciated.  Current version of IceTV seems to be a regression to me.
Win7, 2x Hauppague 2200

Offline dragonfly

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2010, 10:30:19 PM »
tonymy01 - good pick-up,  I will check this out,  I might be too new to windows 7.....

Offline grebe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2010, 09:00:42 PM »
I am having the same problem and I only have the one account set up which by default has admin privileges.

I also think that it was working in an earlier revision.

Offline bushwalker

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2010, 05:37:11 PM »
I fixed my problem (not starting with Windows) this way:

1. Right click on IceTV application and select "Run as administrator"
2. Startup tab
3. If Run when Windows starts is selected, click it again to deselect and press apply.
4. Now, select it again and press apply.

After I performed above steps it finally started with Windows. Good luck.

lukem

  • Guest
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2010, 02:35:29 AM »
Thanks for the info, we'll check it out.

Offline grebe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: interactive wont launch on windows startup
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2010, 04:36:15 PM »
I tried adding a shortcut to my start up folder but this also failed. I have resorted to disabling UAC on my HTPC and IceTV interactive now starts with windows.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Interactive web and Safari

Started by Fester on Smart Recording website and General questions

2 Replies
1501 Views
Last post August 14, 2014, 11:01:48 PM
by Fester
question
ICE TV Interactive getting Exception System.Net.WebException

Started by ozbear on General Discussions

4 Replies
2525 Views
Last post May 19, 2014, 04:22:30 PM
by ozbear
question
Interactive???

Started by amberfluid on Windows Vista Media Center

2 Replies
2615 Views
Last post May 03, 2014, 10:40:26 AM
by amberfluid
xx
5 devices with IceTV Interactive

Started by IanL-S on Smart Recording website and General questions

2 Replies
1461 Views
Last post January 21, 2014, 02:01:35 PM
by IanL-S