Author Topic: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU  (Read 17019 times)

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2009, 04:33:07 AM »
Update:  I got the log file from fletma, and was able to see the problem.  We'll take a look at it and see if we can get a new version released with the problem fixed.  I'll post another note here when I have more information.

Russell

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #16 on: July 20, 2009, 10:32:36 AM »
Hi,

IceTV Interactive version 2.0.0.19 Beta 1 is now available in this thread.  Hopefully it should fix the problem you're seeing.  Please give it a try and let us know.

Thanks,
Russell

Offline bevan.coleman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #17 on: August 07, 2009, 11:34:22 AM »
I'm still getting the CPU load with the latest 2.0.19 b2. Clicking clear log seems to work, but the CPU usage builds up over time.

After peaking in the code (VB.net... really.... come on... C# is much better) I can certainly see a heap of places I would be checking for performance.

The Log add metod for one... reading in an XML file, and appending a row has got'a be soooo slow. "Application.DoEvents();" is also not a good sign, it causes all sorts of problems and means you should be running the process in a separate thread.

Using DataGrids and DataView for a read only log is also quite wasteful of resources. A lot of memory is used by those components, and I'm not convinced by their performance with large numbers of rows.

If you ever get the urge to release the actual source for this I would be quite happy to rewrite entire sections to boost performance, probably make a service version as well.

Jeffro

  • Guest
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #18 on: February 01, 2010, 01:16:16 AM »
I noticed my IceTV Interactive task running the CPU through the roof so I decided to check the forum. This thread is from over 6 months ago and evidently has not been fixed for the Windows 7 version. Sooooo what is the constant CPU activity for? And when will it be fixed?

Using version 3.0.0.10
« Last Edit: February 01, 2010, 01:19:52 AM by Jeffro »

Offline A_G

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #19 on: March 31, 2010, 07:20:58 PM »
Seconded. i just had Media Centre freeze on me and i believe the problems (not the first time I have had performance problems with MC) are related to the large amount of CPU Ice chews up.

Some information/suggestions would be much appreciated.  ;D


Share via facebook Share via twitter

angry
25-05-20 Toppys started spontaneously rebooting when contacting IceTV server

Started by IanL-S on General Discussions

1 Replies
188 Views
Last post May 26, 2020, 02:37:11 PM
by IanL-S
xx
IceTV Server Issues?

Started by ChrisW on SKIPPA

9 Replies
332 Views
Last post May 21, 2020, 09:41:55 AM
by ChrisW
xx
Same program recorded 8 times on T2 (NOT IceTV issue)

Started by IanL-S on Beyonwiz

12 Replies
484 Views
Last post April 16, 2020, 02:29:07 PM
by MD
sad
Yet more errors in IceTV guide

Started by BazzaG on IceTV EPG Content

5 Replies
191 Views
Last post March 26, 2020, 01:37:52 PM
by BazzaG