Author Topic: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU  (Read 16347 times)

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« on: December 14, 2008, 08:33:15 AM »
I am running 2.0.0.18 of the IceTV Interactive program, and I have noticed recently that the fan of my media centre pc has been constantly going. I checked task manager this morning (nothing recording or really happening on the machine - it should be essentially idle), and I have found that constantly the icetv process is the top process - using up to 50% of the cpu, but usually alternating between 30% and 50%. Looking at the status of the process by showing the program on the screen the status is always 'Sending tasks to server...' which maybe why the process is always using so much CPU.

How can reduce the resource usage of the icetv process?

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2008, 08:34:55 AM »
Oh btw I am running Vista MCE.

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2008, 11:02:17 AM »
If you follow through the steps outlined at http://www.icetv.com.au/iceforum/index.php?topic=970.msg4304#msg4304 you should be right to go.
Regards,

Daniel.
CTO.

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2009, 10:31:17 PM »
Any idea when the problem of the high CPU is going to fixed, it happens to me all the time meaning I can't really run the interactive.exe program, one of the main reasons for having icetv in the first place.

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2009, 09:28:16 AM »
Is the high CPU load still continuing after you run through the above steps to clear out the cached tasks?

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2009, 05:08:28 PM »
No but it does reoccur after a period of time, usually after a few weeks or more.

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2009, 06:19:02 PM »
and it happened again....

Come on you stated you found the cause of this prblem a year or more ago, when are we going to get a fix?

Offline OzRob

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2009, 09:20:42 AM »
Yes. It's getting a bit tedious to have to clear the Tasks folder on a regular basis. I was overseas for a week and my wife had to put up with the fan wining away 'cause she didn't know what the trick was. I've since shown her what to do, but if the cause of the problem is known, get a fix out there! Not sure when the last IceInteractive update was, but it's been a while.

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2009, 09:39:09 PM »
It happened again, if they want me to renew they'll fix it.  >:(

Offline martymonster

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2009, 08:58:37 AM »
Strange, if there were a problem with the interactive program I am sure that a lot more people would have reported it.
When I set up my media center I had problems (not with ICE parts). Media Center would hang etc.

I then reinstalled Vista and everything else and have not had any problems for months as opposed to haveing problems every day.

My problem was that I installed a remote control (with software) but was not happy with it.
I uninstalled it and then installed the MS remote.

After rebuilding, I only installed the MS remote.

Seems that the original remote I installed did not completly go away.

Problem COULD be some other piece of software/driver that was installed that is interfering with other programs.

Offline OzRob

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2009, 09:06:14 AM »
Strange, if there were a problem with the interactive program I am sure that a lot more people would have reported it.
When I set up my media center I had problems (not with ICE parts). Media Center would hang etc.
This particular problem IS with the Ice Interactive program. Sometimes I will get a few odd things happen like the CPU fan spinning up when the PC shouldn't be doing much and TV playback gets a bit jumpy. If I drop back to the Vista desktop and open Task Manager, it show the Interactive program using 70% of the CPU cycles - and it just sits there chugging away ad infinitum. Stopping the Ice Interactive program and clearing the cache makes the problem go away and all returns to normal for a few weeks, and then it will happen again.

It's not a show stopper for me, but it sure would be nice to get the problem resolved.

Offline nickd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2009, 12:40:18 PM »
I've just discovered this is the reason my media centre has been failing to sleep properly... IceTVInteractive has been sitting there chewing 100% of one CPU and ~150Mb of memory, constantly. This means the PC is running at least 18 hours a day longer than it should be, which aside from the annoyance, is a waste of energy, and of my money... things that we should all be trying to avoid these days.

The fix for this seems to have been promised for some time now... what's going on?

Nick

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #12 on: June 16, 2009, 02:26:33 PM »
It's that time of the the month again - high CPU and much lower WAF.  >:(

Offline fletma

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #13 on: July 05, 2009, 06:02:58 PM »
Just to let everyone know, here is the response from Ice TV Support :

"The next version of the IceTV Interactive software is still under development, and there is no current ETA.

The new version is being written in conjunction with the Windows 7 version, and it will be released when it is completed.

The only solution at the moment is the fix that was given by Daniel Hall in the 2nd link you sent."

Reading between the lines : don't expect a fix anytime soon. Strange when this problem far pre-dates Windows 7????

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV Interactive.exe High CPU
« Reply #14 on: July 05, 2009, 11:33:03 PM »
Hi guys, sorry this problem is still happening.

Fletma, could you please take a look at the program's log file and see how large it is?

   On Vista:
   C:\Users\<your-user-id>\AppData\Roaming\IceTV\IceTV Interactive\history.log

   On XP:
   C:\Documents and Settings\<your-user-id>\Application Data\IceTV\IceTV Interactive\history.log

If it's small enough that you think you could zip it up and send it in an email, then please send it back in a reply to the last email you got from IceTV support.  If it's too large (more than a few MB) then please reply back with the size (zipped, if possible) and we'll work out another way to get it from you.

If you could also include a note about any particular time that you remember the problem happening, that would be helpful.

We'll take a look and see if we can get rid of this bug once and for all.

Thanks,
Russell


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Common setup pitfalls using IceTV with Plex

Started by Daniel Hall at IceTV on Plex

0 Replies
102 Views
Last post July 01, 2019, 05:33:55 PM
by Daniel Hall at IceTV
xx
Setup IceTV on Plex server on Qnap TS 251+ with HDHomerun Connect

Started by Iceplex on Plex

27 Replies
444 Views
Last post July 22, 2019, 07:10:01 PM
by MD
xx
Full IceTV Subscription vs Plex Subscription

Started by Peter_H on Plex

8 Replies
296 Views
Last post July 16, 2019, 02:45:11 PM
by Daniel Hall at IceTV
xx
WMC running in Windows 10 but IceTV not recording

Started by dataplex on Windows 8 Media Center

2 Replies
527 Views
Last post January 12, 2019, 07:05:54 PM
by dataplex