Author Topic: IceTV and Topfield. A review.  (Read 7169 times)

Offline coolguns

• View Profile
IceTV and Topfield. A review.
« on: October 13, 2008, 01:39:10 PM »
I recently brought a topfield TF71000PVR after having it recommended to me. Up until now I have been using the Platinum Foxtel and figured the Topfield wouldn't be much different. Unfortunately, after almost a month of using the Topfield and IceTV EPG my views on this aren't all that spectacular. Compared to the Foxtel, my experience has been a nightmare. Basically I've had nothing but drama's, most of which are technical in nature. By profession, I am a Computer Network Engineer, so tackling issues such as wireless LAN's, Static IP addresses, LAN security, internet connections and PC issues was not about to deter me from spending the time and money to get it all working.

I'd like to state first and foremost, that if you are Mr and Mrs Joe Average then forget it. In order for me to get the Topfield to connect to my wireless LAN I had to resort to the online forums to get advice! In the end I had to update firmware, and strip all the security from my LAN to get the Topfield to connect to it, an exercise that was recommended in the forums. Thankfully, after reconfiguring the wireless security and fiddling around I finally had the Topfield on the network, with security enabled. In fact, had I taken the time to check the forums regarding IceTV and Topfield I may have decided against purchasing it. A good indication of how well a product or service works can be determined by the volume of posts and issues logged on the support forum(s). The IceTV and Topfield forums have thousands upon thousands of posts, mostly from users suffering technical issues. For a service that really hasn't been around that long it sounds a fairly loud warning to consumers.