Author Topic: Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available  (Read 17659 times)

Offline sortez

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #30 on: October 29, 2009, 11:35:04 PM »
nice one lads. coming along nicely.

been using ice tv for quite some time, selling it also many a time in my store. just reformatted new pc using windows 7 and installed beta.

was all good with one tuner card, "22 channels loaded succesfully" or something like that, however when i installed second tuner card, i rescanned channels then reloaded ice tv, same as first time. this time "2 devices loaded" comes up in the status however nothing in the guide... Any ideas? Running to Leadtek DTV1000S cards...

Cheers for the good work!

Offline dgaust

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #31 on: October 30, 2009, 11:15:27 AM »
W7 has improved its soft and hard padding functionality over Vista - both in scope of things like whenever possible and always, and the time increments have increased dramatically.

I tend to agree with Impact on this point - leave the padding to Windows7. It's significantly improved over Vista, both with the type of padding and the length of time you can specify.

Of course, options are good, so if you do include padding later on can you also leave the option to use 7MC's default padding.

Offline dJOS

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • Derek's Home Theatre
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2009, 06:42:55 PM »
W7 has improved its soft and hard padding functionality over Vista - both in scope of things like whenever possible and always, and the time increments have increased dramatically.

I tend to agree with Impact on this point - leave the padding to Windows7. It's significantly improved over Vista, both with the type of padding and the length of time you can specify.

Of course, options are good, so if you do include padding later on can you also leave the option to use 7MC's default padding.

I too agree, also leave the series creation to 7MC also, just create the series and maintain it in 7MC - most of the problems I had with IceInt-Vista (and why I ditched it) centered around Ice creating once off shows every single time - IceInt should be using 7MC's options only, no silly jiggery pokery!!!

That includes per channel padding settings, 7MC doesn't support it natively so dont try to be too clever - allow for padding to be set per series with a global default as these are supported by 7MC.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2009, 06:44:56 PM by dJOS »
My Home Theatre Project

Quad Tuner 7MC box now replaced by 2x TiVo's HD's by order of the Wife!

Offline yourown

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #33 on: November 02, 2009, 03:43:26 PM »
Ive been a user of IceTV with Vista MCE. Its a great product and while it can be a bit tedious sometimes to setup, once its up and running it works a treat!

I recently did a clean install of Windows 7 to try out the media center functionality, amazingly all the guide listings worked automatically before installing IceTV.

I'd like to know what advantages IceTV now gives me over vanilla Windows 7. I know there is the interactive portal etc, but is it different data and what are the main benefits?


Offline dJOS

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 289
    • View Profile
    • Derek's Home Theatre
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #34 on: November 02, 2009, 04:33:53 PM »
Aside from all the extra features ice bring to the party, the data quality is far superiour to the eit data - if you want to use series records then eit data is far poorer quality and less reliable as a result.

Offline bodogbodog

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 375
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #35 on: November 02, 2009, 06:30:32 PM »
I'd like to know what advantages IceTV now gives me over vanilla Windows 7. I know there is the interactive portal etc, but is it different data and what are the main benefits?

suggest you read this http://www.xpmediacentre.com.au/community/windows-7-media-center-software/39813-windows-7-includes-basic-epg-standard.html#post274360 and this http://www.xpmediacentre.com.au/community/icetv-discussion/39986-why-do-i-have-extend-my-icetv-subscription.html- you get what you pay for!
Beyonwiz T2 1gb + E8400 Win Svr 2013, 4GB RAM, 8TB storage, Tiny Twin USB Tuner, Hauppauge WinTV NOVA TD-500 Tuner + IceTV Skippa

Offline Phattchoo

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #36 on: November 02, 2009, 10:48:03 PM »
Hi Guys,
 Any news on the Beta 2 without the Padding?

I'm really digging the Beta so far, but with only 2 minutes padding, I'm constantly missing the end of *shudder* Home and Away, and my better half is extremely stroppy.

Help me out!

Offline so_bored8008

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #37 on: November 03, 2009, 08:41:50 AM »
Same here, it's all working perfectly. Only thing is the padding issue. Apart from that and a couple of tiny little things that don't really effect anything, the beta is working perfectly.

Offline mr_gimlet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #38 on: November 03, 2009, 09:38:38 AM »
I'm really digging the Beta so far, but with only 2 minutes padding, I'm constantly missing the end of *shudder* Home and Away, and my better half is extremely stroppy.

As a workaround for a few days, I'm just recording the next programme that's on after whatever I'm recording. Doing it on a day by day basis through interactive.

Offline Svantegorm

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #39 on: November 04, 2009, 11:36:02 AM »
On 2 min padding issue....

I've noticed that there's a registry key which contains the padding details (e.g. value = 2 for 2 minute padding).

What would happen if one set this key manually to say 10?? (or may delete the keys altogether...)

I will give this a go myself later today and report back.

Could this be a workaround until this issue is fixed or just cause havoc?


Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1226
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #40 on: November 04, 2009, 11:43:49 AM »
On 2 min padding issue....

I've noticed that there's a registry key which contains the padding details (e.g. value = 2 for 2 minute padding).

What would happen if one set this key manually to say 10?? (or may delete the keys altogether...)

I will give this a go myself later today and report back.

Could this be a workaround until this issue is fixed or just cause havoc?



This wont work, as I said earlier the interface we are using only supports a maximum of 2 minutes of padding (even though windows 7 supports more internally) and if you enter anything higher than this the adding of the recording to Media Center fails.
Regards,

Daniel.
CTO.

Offline Svantegorm

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #41 on: November 04, 2009, 11:53:43 AM »
Thanks Daniel.

Any updates on the next release? The padding issue warrants an interim release in itself since the rest of the beta is performing so well.

Keep up the good work.

Offline Slammer6751

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #42 on: November 04, 2009, 03:55:01 PM »
Any updates on the next release? The padding issue warrants an interim release in itself since the rest of the beta is performing so well.

Totally agree. If the padding issue was fixed it'd be totally usable as even though my Interactive is showing a failed recording it's still being recorded however it's of no use as the ends missed.

I understand this is beta and I can fall back on my Mythbox for now.

It seems to be coming along nicely.

Cheers

Craig

Offline Svantegorm

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #43 on: November 04, 2009, 04:20:05 PM »
very silly to upset/lose customers over such a trivial issue...

either release a new version which disables padding or update us on when the new beta is coming.

---

Question: On the IceTV website, under My Account - latest EPG fetch does not update. Does anyone else have this issue as well? I'm definitely getting new data every day....

Offline rmn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Discussion of Beta IceTV Interactive for Windows 7 being available
« Reply #44 on: November 05, 2009, 06:19:37 PM »
Just auto updated to the new version it works great now that you can opt to use the W7 padding.


Share via facebook Share via twitter