Author Topic: Vista MCE Fiji Update  (Read 42832 times)

Offline dforster

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2008, 11:40:40 PM »
damn just upgraded with TV Pack and now iceTV does not work! should have read this first.

Msg to All. MICROSOFT TV PACK USES MICROSOFT EPG AND IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH ICE TV, INCLUDING INTERACTIVE.

TV Pack, did however fix a lot of problems on my 4 tuner MCE machine. Still got Beyonwiz working!

Look forward to an update from the Ice Team :)


Offline turbojazz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2008, 11:15:06 AM »
just installed myself. thankfully created a system restore point so will be rolling back.
fiji epg please! :)

Offline impact

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2008, 08:34:40 PM »
Yep who cares about facebook apps - get the priorities right first...

1. Fiji update
2. N/A Channel 9

My subscription came up and only renewed for a short time... the clock is ticking... else I might just move elsewhere....

Offline blaize

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2008, 06:24:34 PM »
Any news on this ICEtv  ??? Just bought a new Media Centre PC and guess what has the TV pack installed and no guide now :(

Tony

Offline OzRob

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #19 on: September 01, 2008, 05:28:06 PM »
My subscription came up and only renewed for a short time... the clock is ticking... else I might just move elsewhere....

Where?

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #20 on: September 01, 2008, 05:43:43 PM »
Any news on this ICEtv  ???
Fiji support is a huge priority for us. There's no news yet, but we're doing all we can to have support ASAP.

Offline Nigel Roden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #21 on: September 06, 2008, 03:59:20 PM »
Hi Guys,
Any idea on the eta/date of support for the pack yet?
Cheers,
Nigel

Offline rmlclaritas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #22 on: September 11, 2008, 09:38:01 AM »
hey guys

any further progress on icetv support of tv pack 2008 (fiji)

we really want to ship machines with official support for 2xdual tuners under ultimate and are having to hold off until icetv is sorted.

cheers
rob

Offline dgaust

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2008, 11:29:17 AM »
Talk to MS... they're the ones dragging the chain on this. Considering the changes that they made to the way guide data is imported and stored, it is undoubtedly requiring a lot of work to try and get it back to where it should be.

They've made a statement over at xpmediacentre.com.au saying that loading your own data into Mediacentre (this includes Ice) is not a supported scenario.

So start bugging them..... as an OEM you would have significantly more pull than IceTV when it comes to Microsoft.

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #24 on: September 15, 2008, 05:29:08 AM »
Hi guys,

We know there are a few of you using Fiji now, and we'd like nothing more than to be able to supply guide data for you.  Unfortunately, we've tried contacting Microsoft both locally and in the U.S. but have received very little in response so far.  We've also tried contacting several of our manufacturing partners and resellers, since this update is only being officially offered to OEMs.  We'll continue to try to plead our case, but at the moment we're having trouble finding any info on how to import third-party guide data into MCE with Fiji.  Statements have been made by Microsoft employees implying that there might be a method of loading guide data from a file on the hard drive, but so far we haven't seen anything to suggest that it's actually possible, or any info about the new guide data format.

dgaust: if you have a direct link to the forum post you mentioned, please feel free to post it here and we'll take a look.

Thanks,
Russell

Offline dgaust

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #25 on: September 15, 2008, 01:48:29 PM »
Here's the first one

And another from the same person who's indicated that it's their responsibility.

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #26 on: September 15, 2008, 10:11:24 PM »
dgaust: Thanks for the links.  Yes, those are the articles we've seen too, but it looks like nothing has been posted on the subject recently.  We're still trying to get more info on the new guide format and the ability to load guide data from a file, as Mike mentioned in the posts.

Thanks,
Russell

Offline impact

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2008, 01:00:36 PM »
Thanks to dgaust - at least we got a little response...

http://thegreenbutton.com/forums/thread/293888.aspx

 "Im still working on typing up the information. However, it is low priority to me and as other things come up, it gets bumped down the todo list. Im hesitant to put a timeframe on it. It should be done in the next couple of months. The optimistic side of me is thinking weeks."


Mike is a nice guy - one of the nicer MS people around... however I am sure he is swamped with other things... and to worry about this little country - well.... We know the MS position.

Now I could say lets all email him, annoy the crap - but what would that achieve. Maybe praying to your respective god that it turns up in weeks and not months is a good thing >? Or maybe if just icetv contacts their MS rep in Aus to have the issue escalated, and somehow Mike is given some free time to write it up ?

Who knows - no solution.... Not even a slab of beer to Mike would help ?




Offline sandman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #28 on: October 03, 2008, 12:40:24 AM »
Any update on this?  It is just a little bit important as a media centre builder has just shipped me a machine without the ability to use Ice and the FTA now/next/7 days is a joke.

Offline Nigel Roden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2008, 08:13:35 PM »
Hi there Sandman,
It is sooo fustrating. I have been scouring the links in this thread and over at www.xpmediacentre.com.au any news for the white paper on how the new fiji update works with regard to eit guide data. It seems still quite a complex matter - I can't wait for ice tv support either, but from what I read around various forums it still is going to be a while before this arrives :( I can only hope it arrives sooner than later! Any further news, developments, links to the white paper yet?
Cheers,
Nigel


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
IceTV Interactive V3 Coming Soon to Vista Media Center

Started by lukem on Windows Vista Media Center

0 Replies
4951 Views
Last post January 06, 2012, 01:14:57 PM
by lukem
xx
Red Dwarf: 2009 Eps 2 & 3 did not record in Vista Media Center

Started by Mark on IceTV EPG Content

1 Replies
1730 Views
Last post December 15, 2009, 11:07:42 AM
by AndrewH
xx
App Crash Vista

Started by melmac on Windows Vista Media Center

1 Replies
2808 Views
Last post December 15, 2009, 12:17:59 PM
by melmac
xx
Removing Vista Legacy After Upgrade - FIXED!!!

Started by Svantegorm on Windows Vista Media Center

1 Replies
1895 Views
Last post November 04, 2009, 11:51:43 AM
by Svantegorm