Author Topic: Vista MCE Fiji Update  (Read 40758 times)

Offline Nigel Roden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Vista MCE Fiji Update
« on: August 07, 2008, 09:28:43 PM »
Hi Guys,
Just wondering when there will support from icetv for the upcoming release of the Fiji update pack for Vista MCE.


Offline menzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 11:31:46 PM »
This would be great if we can still use ICE! Any idea on when it will be implemented?

Offline Nigel Roden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2008, 04:53:39 PM »
Apparently (according to my friend google and www.xpmediacentre.com.au) the final release of fiji (Media Centre TV Pack 2008) is due during Cedia or something - between the 3rd - 9th of September
Cheers
Nigel

Offline menzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2008, 07:45:46 PM »
It is due out then but like most things it is already on the web if you know where to look.... and i noticed that the ice guide does not work with the update.... so i was wondering if Ice would be implementing this update into a release and when could we expect it?

Offline leyton01

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 08:31:29 PM »
2nd that need for work on it now so ICE will function as soon as Fiji is realeased 'officially'.  Beta testers needed? :D

Offline Nigel Roden

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2008, 10:43:40 PM »
3rd that! Ready and willing to beta test!

Offline Russell at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 444
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2008, 10:45:07 PM »
Hi guys,

We're definitely looking into Fiji to see how we can best get our stuff working with it.  As soon as we have something for you to try out we'll be sure and let you know.  Sorry I don't have a time estimate at the moment, but we're definitely working on it.

Thanks,
Russell

Offline impact

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2008, 11:30:17 PM »
And although it has changed.... Microsoft have made statements in other forums that there are 2 KB's on the subject describing how it could be done. It is no longer done via a webservice, and that it is now performed via supplied command line interface. They also went on to say, that although they dont / wont support 3rd part / external epg providers - they will supply the required information to those who need it.

So I would hope the dialogue is open - and it is not far away, considering all their offers of help

Offline slimf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2008, 04:19:31 PM »
I also want to update to Fiji - so count me as a vote for an update to IceTV.. actually - count me as 5 votes as I have 4 mates with Vista Media Center and they all beg me to update their PC's and keep them uptodate and most of them want more than two tuner support so I will be updating them as soon as IceTV get a FiJi compatible version ready.

Offline mrmessy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2008, 05:52:39 PM »
bump, another vote from me

Offline rmlclaritas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2008, 09:19:48 AM »
bump ;)

we would be very keen for icetv to work with fiji.

while fiji is able to pull the guide from the broadcast signal we are conscerned about the reliability of recording a series given the free to air guide data may change.

if you guys could source the information from microsoft and update ice asap we would appreciate it.

kind regards
rob

Offline mrmessy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2008, 10:44:53 AM »
even if the IceTV software could fill in the blanks with the FTA guide, as I have noticed that the FTA guide data has more specific show info (ie. it displays a summary of what's happening in the show, not just a generic description of the show)

Offline dgaust

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2008, 03:05:22 PM »
Just wait until you try to record a sporting event or saturday night movie on channel Nein.... instead of the event name they use "Wide World of Sports" or "Saturday Night at the Movies" and include the actual title in the description. They also scream at you (use all CAPITALS)....

The EIT data is a complete shambles, and not worth using.

I've not 'upgraded' to the TV pack until Ice have provided the ability for me to inject their listings into it.

Offline moocow

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2008, 12:24:05 PM »
any idea when ICE TV will be available for it?

Offline Marc

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 451
    • View Profile
Re: Vista MCE Fiji Update
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2008, 02:21:12 PM »
Sorry, no date yet. It's a very, very high priority though.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
IceTV Interactive V3 Coming Soon to Vista Media Center

Started by lukem on Windows Vista Media Center

0 Replies
3518 Views
Last post January 06, 2012, 01:14:57 PM
by lukem
xx
Red Dwarf: 2009 Eps 2 & 3 did not record in Vista Media Center

Started by Mark on IceTV EPG Content

1 Replies
1597 Views
Last post December 15, 2009, 11:07:42 AM
by AndrewH
xx
App Crash Vista

Started by melmac on Windows Vista Media Center

1 Replies
2665 Views
Last post December 15, 2009, 12:17:59 PM
by melmac
xx
Removing Vista Legacy After Upgrade - FIXED!!!

Started by Svantegorm on Windows Vista Media Center

1 Replies
1749 Views
Last post November 04, 2009, 11:51:43 AM
by Svantegorm