Author Topic: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix  (Read 490 times)

Offline ozbear

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« on: December 09, 2016, 11:04:07 AM »
I hadn't done a channel scan for some time, and after getting the email from IceTV about the new ABC HD channel I thought I should. Note, that ABC HD had automagically appeared in my Guide listings prior to the scan, but I thought I should "just in case".
So I did a complete new scan, not "scan for additional channels", and all was well (38 channels found), or so I thought, until I noticed all the channel 7 channels (7, 70, 71, etc.) had no guide data.  I went to Edit Channels and saw that the Logical Channel Numbers (LCNs) were in the 200 range, channel 7 being 202 (I think, and so forth).  After changing these to the correct LCNs, the various 7x-ICE listings were available, the guide listings/logos appeared, and recordings rescheduled for those channels.

I've never seen this happen before.  Anyone have a clue?

The tuners are 1 Hauppauge WinTVHVR-2200 (dual tuners on the card) and one HDHomeRun (actually rebadged Kaiser-Bass, HDHR3-AU I believe) 2 tuner network tuner.

Oz

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • IceTV Staff
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 01:22:59 PM »
Hi ozbear,

You are 3rd or 4th Windows media center user this week to report this issue of network seven channels suddenly having LCNs above 200.

We have a brand new knowledgebase guide on how to resolve the issue of TV channels with numbers above 200 in Windows Media Center.
http://support.icetv.com.au/hc/en-us/articles/236072308
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline Dave

  • IceTV Beta
  • Senior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2016, 01:38:17 PM »
This has been happening for several months.  It's not just something that's started with ABC HD.
Antec NSK2480B Case & PSU, Asus M4A785TD-M-EVO motherboard, AMD Phenom II 965 3.40Ghz quad core CPU, 4Gb RAM, Hauppauge HVR2200 Dual Tuner, 1Tb and 500Gb WD HDDs, Windows 7 Home Premium

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • IceTV Staff
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2016, 02:59:15 PM »
This has been happening for several months.  It's not just something that's started with ABC HD.

Correct, but some people are only seeing their network seven channels move to numbers in the 200+ range after doing a TV channel scan to add the new ABC HD channel. If there was no new ABC HD channel they wouldn't be doing a scan and their network seven channels might still be on their correct numbers.

Offline ozbear

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2016, 03:33:47 PM »
Dave, given what my system was showing prior to the scan (ABCHD in the Guide, etc.), could I have just skipped the entire fandango? Was everything already fixed up by WMC and/or the Windows Ice app?  Just want to know what to do (or not do) the next time a new channel is available.
Oz

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • IceTV Staff
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2016, 04:13:50 PM »
Dave, given what my system was showing prior to the scan (ABCHD in the Guide, etc.), could I have just skipped the entire fandango? Was everything already fixed up by WMC and/or the Windows Ice app?  Just want to know what to do (or not do) the next time a new channel is available.
Oz

Yes. As you already had the ABC HD channel you could have (should have) done nothing.

Offline ozbear

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2016, 06:29:43 PM »
Dave, thanks the info.
Prior to posting on this issue, I attempted to search the forums, but am always greeted with this:

The website cannot display the page
 
  HTTP 500
 
   
Most likely causes:
•The website is under maintenance.
•The website has a programming error.
 
   
What you can try:
 
   

  Refresh the page. 
 
   

  Go back to the previous page. 
 
   

More information  More information   


This error (HTTP 500 Internal Server Error) means that the website you are visiting had a server problem which prevented the webpage from displaying.

For more information about HTTP errors, see Help.
 
Is something broken?

Oz

Offline alect

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2017, 06:32:31 PM »
I hadn't done a channel scan for some time, and after getting the email from IceTV about the new ABC HD channel I thought I should. Note, that ABC HD had automagically appeared in my Guide listings prior to the scan, but I thought I should "just in case".
So I did a complete new scan, not "scan for additional channels", and all was well (38 channels found), or so I thought, until I noticed all the channel 7 channels (7, 70, 71, etc.) had no guide data.  I went to Edit Channels and saw that the Logical Channel Numbers (LCNs) were in the 200 range, channel 7 being 202 (I think, and so forth).  After changing these to the correct LCNs, the various 7x-ICE listings were available, the guide listings/logos appeared, and recordings rescheduled for those channels.

I've never seen this happen before.  Anyone have a clue?

The tuners are 1 Hauppauge WinTVHVR-2200 (dual tuners on the card) and one HDHomeRun (actually rebadged Kaiser-Bass, HDHR3-AU I believe) 2 tuner network tuner.

Oz

I just noticed I am experiencing the same problem....about to read the knowledgebase article - hope it resolves it - did it resolve it for you?

Offline ozbear

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2017, 11:07:48 AM »
Yes it did....I edited the four wrong channel 7 numbers manually.

Offline aja07

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2017, 11:32:40 AM »
Hi, I lost all my channel 7 LCN's yesterday.  Did a full rescan still no luck, came here and found the work around. Voila! all fixed, Thank You.

Offline MD

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
  • TV TV Australia MD
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2017, 11:37:00 AM »
I had the same problem on my Win MCE using Elgato Diversity tuners.  Did a rescan and got the same result and the 20x solution.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • IceTV Staff
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix
« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2017, 12:16:10 PM »
Hi, I lost all my channel 7 LCN's yesterday.  Did a full rescan still no luck, came here and found the work around. Voila! all fixed, Thank You.

Over the last 2 months the 7 network has been broadcasting a dodgy signal that includes corrupt or missing channel number info while at the same time signalling TVs and recorders to update their 7 network channels. We first got reports from customers in Brisbane then later Sydney and then Melbourne and Adelaide. Now Prime channels in regional areas are starting to experience the same thing.

Some devices are affected more than others. Windows Media Center suffers the most because the channels move to incorrect channel numbers. On my Beyonwiz T4 I noticed 7, 70, 72, 73 and 76 had a black picture and no sound yet 71 was okay. Manually clearing and rescanning the channels fixed it. Yet my other PVRs seem unaffected.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
ABC's new LCNs still not changed over on Sydney's repeaters??

Started by JPP

1 Replies
2521 Views
Last post February 12, 2008, 12:47:26 PM
by JPP
xx
Seven LCNs screwed up - Win7 MC

Started by alect

1 Replies
132 Views
Last post January 03, 2017, 06:51:57 PM
by MD
xx
HELP please - Adelaide channel scan no longer matches IceTV data

Started by chopper

3 Replies
1523 Views
Last post September 19, 2010, 03:22:22 PM
by raymondjpg
xx
Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane

Started by sanmarco

7 Replies
738 Views
Last post October 01, 2015, 06:13:32 PM
by sanmarco