Author Topic: Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane  (Read 3260 times)

Offline 2353

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane
« on: May 14, 2017, 08:15:00 PM »
Hi all,

Just wondering if there is a problem with the EPG or if my Toppy is telling me it time to be pensioned off.

Offline MD

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 161
  • TV TV Australia MD
    • View Profile
Re: Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 08:57:43 PM »
If it's rebooting every few minutes it's because it lacks enough memory  cope with the size of an EPG due to the many new channels that gave been aired since it was designed. Go to your IceTV Guide Settings and disable all the SD channels that are duplicated in HD, as I think your Toppy can handle MPEG4, if I'm wrong do it the other way and disable HD channels. That would be ABC, SBS, SBS Vicelabd, 7, 9 and 10.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 11:52:45 PM »
There are other possible causes; there is a discussion of them on the oztoppy wiki - in the when things go wrong, Toppy reboots.

My main 2400 was acquired in December 2009 and is still going strong. I have another and 2 7100+ which are also getting on in years.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help
ozSKIPPA wiki coming soon (I hope)

Offline 2353

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2017, 09:42:32 PM »
Thanks folks - took all the SD channels off the TV guide and the Toppy has been running for a couple of hours.  Would I be correct in surmising that this 'undocumented product feature' was not fixed before Topfield's latest dramas - so it probably never will be?

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Toppy 2460 rebooting in Brisbane
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 06:09:02 AM »
Correct. It appears that Topfield stopped all work on Australian Toppys when they lost control of Toppro which was then found to be insolvent by the "true" owners. About the same time Topfield Korea did a restructure ... separated the PVR business from other parts of the company.

Ian


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Toppy 2400 & IceTv guide problem

Started by GeorgeC on Topfield

6 Replies
2020 Views
Last post November 05, 2016, 02:04:09 PM
by IanL-S
question
IceTV sends timer for LCN that has been deleted on the Toppy

Started by IanL-S on Topfield

4 Replies
1653 Views
Last post September 01, 2016, 01:17:31 PM
by Dave at IceTV
xx
Toppy2400 rebooting in Sydney

Started by MilkyWhite on Topfield

2 Replies
1364 Views
Last post June 04, 2016, 08:10:00 AM
by IanL-S
thumbup
29 January 2016 Toppy firmware 2.16.00

Started by IanL-S on Topfield

0 Replies
1080 Views
Last post March 12, 2016, 04:38:40 PM
by IanL-S