Author Topic: Topfield 5000 masterpiece w/icebox2 setup  (Read 2989 times)

Offline chrisb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Topfield 5000 masterpiece w/icebox2 setup
« on: October 30, 2009, 05:40:36 PM »
Currently i'm running a TF5000MP with an IceBox2 and using TEDS Suite to get IceTV data. I also have an Beyonwiz that i use Ice Interactive with.

My original reasons for using TEDS was that it has better clash detection and recording merging, HOWEVER, i'm really finding having to separate systems annoying, and TEDS stops working when me and my laptop travel.

Is it worth moving to Interactive for the Topfield? Does it work? How does it handle clashes and back to back timers?


Offline jillmess

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Topfield 5000 masterpiece w/icebox2 setup
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2009, 06:40:32 PM »
Interactive doesn't work with the earlier model Topfield's.  The setup I was using (ToppyMP & Icebox2) was to let the Icebox download the data daily, and then a Tap called UK Auto Scheduler (UKAS) to set the timers.  UKAS merges timers without problem, but only has basic priority setting - the order you list your programmes in UKAS is the priority/order it uses to set timers.  If you use JustEPG, you can use it to "send" timers to UKAS to make setting them up easier. 

See http://www.tapworld.net/content/view/286/ for UKAS download link.  Also check out http://www.toppy.org.uk/forum/ for info - there is a long forum thread about UKAS.

Jill

Offline chrisb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: Topfield 5000 masterpiece w/icebox2 setup
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2009, 07:19:18 PM »
Hmm. Thanks. I did use UKAS a while ago but went back to TEDS because it had a better feature set.

It's a pity the IceBox2 doesn't support Interactive. :(

Maybe i just need a new 4 tuner Windows 7 Media box. ;)


Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: Topfield 5000 masterpiece w/icebox2 setup
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2009, 08:17:39 PM »
I think you can get perlTGD working on the icebox2 (I have it working on my SLUG, which isn't that much more grunt/ram than the ICEBOX2).   I guess if you don't like (or haven't tried) fiddling with linux before, it may end up being a very rocky (and pioneering) road to achieve it though...
Regards
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Display season and episode numbers on Topfield

Started by icedaddative on Topfield

5 Replies
3416 Views
Last post January 31, 2018, 06:05:56 PM
by DeltaMikeCharlie
thumbup
New user forum for Australian Topfield PVR users

Started by IanL-S on Topfield

2 Replies
2201 Views
Last post September 02, 2016, 05:12:31 PM
by IanL-S
xx
NBN + Topfield

Started by QinQld on General Discussions

3 Replies
1671 Views
Last post August 18, 2016, 08:22:41 PM
by QinQld
xx
Topfield 5000 no longer able to download EPG

Started by GeorgeC on Topfield

2 Replies
1283 Views
Last post June 11, 2016, 07:57:07 PM
by GeorgeC