Author Topic: Should Toppie be on 24x7  (Read 3443 times)

Offline pszilard

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Should Toppie be on 24x7
« on: September 23, 2008, 04:57:01 PM »
Is it best to leave the Toppie on 24x7? I normally turn it off when not in use, but then ICE can't update.
Thanks...

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: Should Toppie be on 24x7
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2008, 12:04:22 AM »
For my Beyonwiz and 5K, I have a daily wakeup timer for 15mins at 4am which will at least get any changes for the day or later in the week through (without recording to the HDD.  Also called a VCR timer).   Obviously if you are out later in the day and want to do a timer for something that night, this won't update to the unit unless it turns on for a timer, but I never need to do this (touch wood).
Regards
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

Offline pszilard

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Should Toppie be on 24x7
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2008, 06:41:00 PM »
How do you wake the Toppie, except by recording something?

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: Should Toppie be on 24x7
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2008, 07:45:01 PM »
As per my post, a wakeup or VCR timer.
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

Offline hallycat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Should Toppie be on 24x7
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2008, 01:44:50 PM »
The trouble with a wakeup timer on the toppy 7100 is that it doesn't go back to sleep after woken up. You have to manually turn it off. Or at least that was the case last time I tried it.

An Error Has Occurred!

Call to undefined function seo_social_bookmarks()