Author Topic: Programmed recording does not have a picture but shows 6.8gb file size  (Read 1987 times)

Offline cjsilk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
I have programmed SVU for each week but when I go to playback there is nothing to play yet it shows the file as being recorded and has a file size of 6.8gb. I have this happening on both a TF2460 and TVIX S1 duo. What am I doing wrong?
TVIX Slim S1 Duo, Topfield 2460, Panasonic DMR TR700

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3145
    • View Profile
Re: Programmed recording does not have a picture but shows 6.8gb file size
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 11:20:19 AM »
Do you get an error when you try to play the recording, or does the recording play a black screen and silence?

The latter is what happens on a Beyonwiz if there was no signal detected while the recording was being made. The recording file is of about the expected length, but playback gives a black screen and silence.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline cjsilk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Programmed recording does not have a picture but shows 6.8gb file size
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2012, 03:07:00 AM »
Yes just end up with a black screen and seems to rewind and play etc and stops when stop is pressed, but shows the time and size of recording

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Programmed recording does not have a picture but shows 6.8gb file size
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2012, 03:35:45 PM »
Seeing as 95% of your recordings this week are on the Ten network (on One and Ten) if it was an antenna issue you'd notice the problem on most of your recordings.

Sounds like you may have two channel Tens; one with a good signal and one with a weak signal. Often the weak one gets the recordings and guide from IceTV (not IceTV's fault). Check if there are two Tens both on channel number 10, or one Ten on 10 and a second Ten on a channel number above 99 (ch 350 or 1001 etc).

Also, you look like you may be in an area that actually gets SC10 instead of Ten.

« Last Edit: October 02, 2012, 04:12:16 PM by Dave at IceTV »
cheers

Dave
Customer Service


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Programmed timer reports failed to record in advance

Started by dddp on Smart Recording website and General questions

1 Replies
1427 Views
Last post January 07, 2013, 04:17:06 PM
by prl
xx
P2 now losing pre programmed schedules when ICETV updates

Started by turbo on Beyonwiz

9 Replies
2904 Views
Last post January 19, 2011, 01:51:04 PM
by tonymy01