Author Topic: Prefer Standard Def Option  (Read 1226 times)

Offline ChrisW

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Prefer Standard Def Option
« on: September 16, 2016, 11:09:11 AM »
Could I please request a facility that allows the Advanced Options - Quality selection to be remembered for future timer settings?

I would imagine the last option used could be retained in the cookie or account database (as the last Device and Time/Channel currently are), or an option added in the account config to set the prefered default.

Reason being: I ALWAYS prefer my recordings to be standard def, but I want to retain the duplicate hi-def channels for the very occasional show I may prefer to watch in better quality, such as the Olympics recently.

Currently, every time I set a timer for SBS, TEN, Nine or 7mate I have to go into Advanced Options and change the Quality to "Prefer Standard Def", which frustratingly adds three mouse clicks to every timer setting.

Apart from the increased file size of hi-def recordings, the Skippa beavers away unsuccesfully for hours trying to process ad-skipping on these hi-def files. Im sure this extra disk and CPU activity is just shortening the Skippa's life expectancy.  :'(

Thanks in advance for any consideration.

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3340
    • View Profile
Re: Prefer Standard Def Option
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2016, 01:35:23 PM »
I've long been of the opinion that if you set up a recording on, say, SBS, it should default to "Prefer standard definition", and if you set it up on SBS HD, it should default to "Prefer high definition".

But then I also think that "Prefer high definition" should only refer to programs that have a HD program source, not just lots of pixels in the broadcast.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline ChrisW

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Prefer Standard Def Option
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2016, 01:44:41 PM »
I've long been of the opinion that if you set up a recording on, say, SBS, it should default to "Prefer standard definition", and if you set it up on SBS HD, it should default to "Prefer high definition".
That would work for me.

In fact you've just made me realise why it bugs me: I've made the effort to identify and select the standard-def show/channel when it is available on multiple channels, then I have to go extra effort to ensure it actually records on the channel I selected!

Thanks - I feel a bit better now.  :)
« Last Edit: September 16, 2016, 01:48:20 PM by ChrisW »

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 556
    • View Profile
Re: Prefer Standard Def Option
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2016, 04:30:55 PM »
But then I also think that "Prefer high definition" should only refer to programs that have a HD program source, not just lots of pixels in the broadcast.

Search for Hens' Teeth in the egp.
Topfield TF7100HDPVRt, Beyonwiz DP-P2, Beyonwiz T2, Beyonwiz U4, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2200, Hauppauge WinTV-MiniStick 01240, Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD (x2)


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Prefer standard definition

Started by csutak40 on Smart Recording website and General questions

40 Replies
4878 Views
Last post January 18, 2020, 01:43:51 PM
by MD
clip
Lost my "Add New Preference button"?

Started by csutak40 on Smart Recording website and General questions

3 Replies
1470 Views
Last post October 07, 2016, 08:02:43 PM
by csutak40
xx
Odd problem with "prefer standard definition"

Started by prl on Smart Recording website and General questions

2 Replies
1249 Views
Last post July 05, 2016, 12:08:32 PM
by prl
xx
Saved keyword searches keep reverting to "Prefer High Def"

Started by jillmess on General Discussions

1 Replies
1272 Views
Last post February 09, 2016, 09:47:36 PM
by Dave at IceTV