Author Topic: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.  (Read 5477 times)

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« on: September 29, 2010, 08:13:48 AM »
There are a few folk who have noticed that after setting timers for one device, these have ended up on another device.
Probably would depend on how much of a TV tragic you are, whether you'll really notice it.
I see it, quite a bit, when I'll find that one of a series turns up on the other device I have.  This means I haven't inadvertantly programmed something for the wrong box.
I also see it more easily when I have 4 different channels programmed at the same time, 2 on each box.  In this case occasionally I find that a timer hasn't been set, and has a yellow triangle in IceTV timers web page.  This is due to a clash of timers.

Certainly there are a few Beyonwiz users who have seen it.
Its been suggested by IceTV staff that the BW is at fault, as it may be selecting the wrong device when it is contacting the Ice server.
More specifically using the first one in the list on occasions.
I have 2 boxes, and timers have turned up on each one that shouldn't have been there.
Talking with local BWiz support, it seems that although they are aware of the problem, but it hasn't been identified as being the BW or Ice as the culprit.

On the other side of the coin, there has been a suggestion that other devices, (Topfield may have been one), that have exhibited the same problem.

Another suggestion is that the user has been changing device names, or some similar action on the box.  That's not the case, I have left my Ice device names, and logon alone for months.

What I am asking is if there are any users other than BWiz users that are seeing this problem?



BeyonWiz, T3

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2010, 01:56:34 PM »
Bump,
Thought I'd try and keep it visible for another day.
Then I'll take the query as a NO.

Offline Colin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 12:30:41 PM »
I often record 4 shows on my 2 Beyonwiz boxes (DP2s) and haven't had this problem.

This doesn't apply to you, but i've noticed that if I have 2 Internet Explorer windows open (one for each box), they both end up controlling the same box. I have to use IE and another broswer (Firefox) for it to work properly. This might explain some timers going to the wrong box, but not a series being differnet boxes.

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2010, 03:09:05 PM »
I often record 4 shows on my 2 Beyonwiz boxes (DP2s) and haven't had this problem.

This doesn't apply to you, but I've noticed that if I have 2 Internet Explorer windows open (one for each box), they both end up controlling the same box. I have to use IE and another browser (Firefox) for it to work properly. This might explain some timers going to the wrong box, but not a series being different boxes.
I only use one window to control my boxes.  But I think I see your reasoning
Musing away as I do occasionally, I have both my devices power down when finished with engines for the night.  I rely on "view" only timers to wake the boxes up to call for any updates.
So the thought goes , is it possible that there could be some slip tween the cup and the lip when there are simultaneous requests?
Is it possible that the ones that aren't affected are powered on constantly?

To try and do something about this, I've just recently created the View timers for one hour, 2 hours apart.

 Maybe I should leave them powered on for a few months to see if this has an effect.
Probably do that when the next failure occurs.

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2010, 06:38:47 PM »
And now I've come up with another one.
More than likely a BW prob.

2 shows New Tricks and Spooks for tonight.
Both show in Ice website as being sent and accepted.  (full red circle)
Both are in my timers.
Both are not shown as highlighted in the Guide on the Wiz.
Time on the box is correct, both Box time/date, and scheduled time.



Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2010, 06:44:16 PM »
ahh, silly me.
Mouth into gear b4 the brain.
Ch 21 in faves, not 2.

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2010, 08:27:40 PM »
ahh, silly me.
Mouth into gear b4 the brain.
Ch 21 in faves, not 2.

been there, done that  ::)
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2010, 09:43:34 AM »


What I am asking is if there are any users other than BWiz users that are seeing this problem?



So it has happened to me, first time as far as I can tell.

Breaking Bad on ABC2 tonight, scheduled to record on a Topfield 7100 only, turned up on the Beyonwiz DP-P2 instead.

I have rescheduled the program manually on the Topfield.

This looks more like an Ice server glitch to me than a problem with the Wiz.
Topfield TF7100HDPVRt, Beyonwiz DP-P2, Beyonwiz T2, Beyonwiz U4, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2200, Hauppauge WinTV-MiniStick 01240, Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD (x2)

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2010, 02:31:10 PM »


What I am asking is if there are any users other than BWiz users that are seeing this problem?



So it has happened to me, first time as far as I can tell.

Breaking Bad on ABC2 tonight, scheduled to record on a Topfield 7100 only, turned up on the Beyonwiz DP-P2 instead.

I have rescheduled the program manually on the Topfield.

This looks more like an Ice server glitch to me than a problem with the Wiz.
It's been suggested that, it was the Wiz sending up the request for timers with the wrong ID.
The suggestion was that it would pick the first box in the list, (ID0).
Just to get a clearer picture in regard to that, can you tell us which box is first in your list in your account on the Ice website?

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2010, 03:12:06 PM »


What I am asking is if there are any users other than BWiz users that are seeing this problem?



So it has happened to me, first time as far as I can tell.

Breaking Bad on ABC2 tonight, scheduled to record on a Topfield 7100 only, turned up on the Beyonwiz DP-P2 instead.

I have rescheduled the program manually on the Topfield.

This looks more like an Ice server glitch to me than a problem with the Wiz.
It's been suggested that, it was the Wiz sending up the request for timers with the wrong ID.
The suggestion was that it would pick the first box in the list, (ID0).
Just to get a clearer picture in regard to that, can you tell us which box is first in your list in your account on the Ice website?


First box in the list in my account is the Topfield.


Edit: Just to be clear, the program was scheduled on the Ice Interactive site for the Topfield only, not the Wiz. The timer showed up in the Wiz, not the Topfield.

Ice site still showed the program scheduled for the Topfield and not the Wiz. ???
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 03:16:04 PM by raymondjpg »

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #10 on: November 12, 2010, 04:34:46 PM »


What I am asking is if there are any users other than BWiz users that are seeing this problem?



So it has happened to me, first time as far as I can tell.

Breaking Bad on ABC2 tonight, scheduled to record on a Topfield 7100 only, turned up on the Beyonwiz DP-P2 instead.

I have rescheduled the program manually on the Topfield.

This looks more like an Ice server glitch to me than a problem with the Wiz.
It's been suggested that, it was the Wiz sending up the request for timers with the wrong ID.
The suggestion was that it would pick the first box in the list, (ID0).
Just to get a clearer picture in regard to that, can you tell us which box is first in your list in your account on the Ice website?


First box in the list in my account is the Topfield.


Edit: Just to be clear, the program was scheduled on the Ice Interactive site for the Topfield only, not the Wiz. The timer showed up in the Wiz, not the Topfield.

Ice site still showed the program scheduled for the Topfield and not the Wiz. ???
That seems to be what was implied, in your case, the Wiz was ID1, but the timer came from the list associated with ID0.

Not sure how confusing this is going to be, but I seem to think, I have had the reverse happen as well.

I have also had timers that have been entered into a box correctly, and have had a doughnut showing in the Ice website.
I have wondered if this is another end result of whatever the problem is.

I have reported the cross timers to BeyonWiz folk as well as Ice.

The 2 boxes I have, are powered down overnight, and wake up for an hour each day.  I have separated the wake up by 2 hours to ensure that they don't come on together, this was to try and identify if there was some confusion with simultaneous requests.  But the problem still has occurred since.





Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2010, 05:36:27 PM »

I have reported the cross timers to BeyonWiz folk as well as Ice.


Well I would like to know what they think and/or are doing about it!

Regards

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #12 on: November 12, 2010, 06:14:24 PM »

I have reported the cross timers to BeyonWiz folk as well as Ice.


Well I would like to know what they think and/or are doing about it!

Regards
Me 3, I feel like the meat in the sandwich.
Have you reported it to the Ice people?

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #13 on: November 12, 2010, 06:46:32 PM »

Have you reported it to the Ice people?


I have requested a support ticket from Ice. It doesn't look like we will get a response here.

Regards

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 350
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple devices. Timers going to wrong device.
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2010, 03:50:39 PM »
I may have a way of getting around the "timers sent to the wrong box" problem..

Going on the statement that the BW is sending up a request for device ID = 0 instead of ID = 1.
I now have a dummy device as the first one in the list.
No timers will be setup here.
The idea is that if the BW is erroneously requesting for device 0, nothing gets sent, and then on another request later when it calls for any updates for the correct box, then all should be well.

I deleted both devices in the Ice Web server.  deleted all timers in both my BW's.
Then I added a new device I called Dummy for obvious reasons as my first one in the list.  This one I will never use.
Then added my 2 real boxes.

On the BW's I then reselected the devices in the Ice TV section.
These are now individually ID = 1, and ID = 2.
Then recreated my timers.

I did a resend all devices for all timers, and waited patiently till they turned up in the BW's.

I am assuming that it will take some weeks to get an indication that this get around may be an answer.

I still see a red doughnut in the Ice Server for a timer that this been set correctly in the correct box, so I am assuming that this is a separate problem.

I've discussed this today with both Ice and BW.
Ice support don't see the get around as causing any problems.
BW still have a need to trace this, to verify that this is the problem.








Share via facebook Share via twitter

question
U4 schedule change produces multiple timers for same program

Started by IanL-S on Beyonwiz

10 Replies
1524 Views
Last post March 18, 2018, 07:26:50 PM
by grumpy_geoff
xx
Doctor Who - multiple timers sent

Started by vader1111 on IceTV EPG Content

7 Replies
1170 Views
Last post May 02, 2017, 01:59:07 PM
by vader1111
xx
Stopping multiple recordings of the same show.

Started by BruceJG on General Discussions

10 Replies
2997 Views
Last post May 17, 2016, 08:31:25 PM
by TimC
xx
Multiple EPG regions

Started by tlgerdes on IceTV EPG Content

1 Replies
1074 Views
Last post September 24, 2014, 05:02:12 PM
by Madeleine IceGuide