Author Topic: Stop Failed Error.  (Read 4189 times)

Offline SkippaBeat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Stop Failed Error.
« on: June 14, 2018, 04:11:52 PM »
Hi,

I have just noticed lots of failed recordings since 29/5/2018, with the above error.

What could be the cause?

Offline SkippaBeat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Stop Failed Error.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 05:37:55 PM »
I guess no one knows the answer then?

Skippa had been my better PVR until this too!

Offline Rowdy

  • IceTV Beta
  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Stop Failed Error.
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 07:18:57 PM »
I had lots of errors so I replaced the hard disk. It has been going strong ever since.
Topfield 5000, 2400, Skippa

Offline ChrisW

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Stop Failed Error.
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2018, 03:38:55 PM »
I had lots of errors so I replaced the hard disk. It has been going strong ever since.
Same here

Offline SkippaBeat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Stop Failed Error.
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2018, 06:15:59 PM »
Thanks, guys.

I have the HDD half full, so need to watch all that first, then I can check out the drive.

Offline ChrisW

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Re: Stop Failed Error.
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2018, 12:47:32 PM »
I started having problems after a few months, with random reboots and lock ups.

I tried so many different things to pin down the cause, and had so many theories - power fluctuations, bad spots on the disk, overheating, internet dropouts, buggy code.

Like you, I always had content to watch and couldn't find an easy way of backing it up to watch or restore later, so I never found time to reformat the disk, to rule that out.

In the end I was lucky enough to get a second Skippa and, after swapping the disks over, finally realized that the problem was there. I ended up biting the bullet and exporting, deleting or watching my backlog, then just used the disk from the second Skippa. I did reformat the dodgy one, so I have a second unit ready to go if the current one dies. If that ever happens and it still plays up then at least I'll know the disk is genuinely faulty.

An Error Has Occurred!

Call to undefined function seo_social_bookmarks()