Author Topic: Skippa Time Padding  (Read 4185 times)

Offline Antony1965

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Skippa Time Padding
« on: July 17, 2015, 04:02:37 PM »
Does Skippa have time padding (buffers at either end of a recorded program. Most channels have a bad habit of not sticking to broadcast times

Offline Leon K

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 04:14:37 PM »
Hey Antony,

Does Skippa have time padding (buffers at either end of a recorded program. Most channels have a bad habit of not sticking to broadcast times

Yes the SKIPPA certainly has padding options - pre and post up to a maximum of 40 mins.

Offline Antony1965

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 05:01:27 PM »
Thanks for that, I'm looking at ordering a skippa but the specs/functions are a bit light on, I currently have a Topfield and it has few fictions I've become used to.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2015, 05:34:50 PM »
We expect to have the manual online on Monday, which will then be available here: skippa.tv/manual  (at the moment the file at that link is just a blank pdf file)

What are the must-have functions from the Topfield that you want?
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Vortical

  • Guest
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2015, 07:49:35 PM »
What are the must-have functions from the Topfield that you want?

A couple I've become used to are
  • Pressing ok while viewing a recording to jump back to the file list.
    (or at least a dedicated remote button to do this.)
  • While recording pressing the standby button on the remote or pvr will bring up a warning message but if the pvr is left alone it will power down to standby by itself.
    (Another way would be to use a sleep timer button on the remote with the first option being to power down to standby after recordings are finished followed by the various time duritions to put the pvr to standby when it's not recording.)

btw I hope there is a sleep button on the remote so the unit can go into standby automatically after a set duration as I use this feature a lot too.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2015, 03:41:37 PM »
A couple I've become used to are
  • Pressing ok while viewing a recording to jump back to the file list.
    (or at least a dedicated remote button to do this.)
  • While recording pressing the standby button on the remote or pvr will bring up a warning message but if the pvr is left alone it will power down to standby by itself.
    (Another way would be to use a sleep timer button on the remote with the first option being to power down to standby after recordings are finished followed by the various time duritions to put the pvr to standby when it's not recording.)

btw I hope there is a sleep button on the remote so the unit can go into standby automatically after a set duration as I use this feature a lot too.

Not sure about 1. I'll need to test that.

For 2, I'm sure if you press the power button while SKIPPA™ is recording it will go straight to standby and keep recording while in standby. 

Offline Leon K

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2015, 04:19:44 PM »
  • Pressing ok while viewing a recording to jump back to the file list.
    (or at least a dedicated remote button to do this.)
  • While recording pressing the standby button on the remote or pvr will bring up a warning message but if the pvr is left alone it will power down to standby by itself.
    (Another way would be to use a sleep timer button on the remote with the first option being to power down to standby after recordings are finished followed by the various time duritions to put the pvr to standby when it's not recording.)

btw I hope there is a sleep button on the remote so the unit can go into standby automatically after a set duration as I use this feature a lot too.

Hey Vortical,

1. While watching a recording, pressing the MY REC button (My Recordings) will open the recording list and show your current playback in a picture window, pressing MY REC again takes you back to full screen of the playback.

2. You can configure the SKIPPA to automatically sleep / enter standby after a specified duration of inactivity: the shortest option is 1 hour, with the longest being 1 day of inactivity.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2015, 06:12:03 PM »
We expect to have the manual online on Monday, which will then be available here: skippa.tv/manual  (at the moment the file at that link is just a blank pdf file)

What are the must-have functions from the Topfield that you want?

Close of business Monday (Eastern States) has come and gone the manual still has not appear. However IceTV Tech support are on deck for a few more hours yet.

This is NOT a complaint, merely an observation on the current state of play. :)

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2 + U4
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help

Offline Carljh

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2015, 09:56:20 PM »
Like a few others on this forum, I am a long time TiVo user and have been looking for a replacement for a while as I am sure that support will soon finish.  Skippa seems to tick most of the boxes for me but am a bit disappointed about the padding.  It appears that this can only be set globally and not per program and a max of 40 minutes. Although it is not such an issue on Skippa with 3 tuners, the way I handle back to back programs on the same channel on TiVo, especially when there is a clash with timing, is to cancel the second program and add enough padding to the first to record both as one program.  TiVo allows up to 3 hours of padding plus an option to set the recording manually for any time you want.  It would be great if this could be investigated as a future firmware update.  The other issue with the global padding is, as we all know, some channels are worse than others for timing and I don't see the need to add 10 minutes pre-padding to ABC shows.  My second question is with the ad removal, does this carry on even if the unit is in standby mode and is there an option to turn the feature off altogether as with my experience with VideoReDo, it will be more trouble than it is worth?  However, I will reserve my judgement till after I have the Skippa and tried it 'in the flesh".

Offline csutak40

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2015, 11:48:04 PM »
Like a few others on this forum, I am a long time TiVo user and have been looking for a replacement for a while as I am sure that support will soon finish.  Skippa seems to tick most of the boxes for me but am a bit disappointed about the padding.  It appears that this can only be set globally and not per program and a max of 40 minutes. Although it is not such an issue on Skippa with 3 tuners, the way I handle back to back programs on the same channel on TiVo, especially when there is a clash with timing, is to cancel the second program and add enough padding to the first to record both as one program.  TiVo allows up to 3 hours of padding plus an option to set the recording manually for any time you want.  It would be great if this could be investigated as a future firmware update.  The other issue with the global padding is, as we all know, some channels are worse than others for timing and I don't see the need to add 10 minutes pre-padding to ABC shows.  My second question is with the ad removal, does this carry on even if the unit is in standby mode and is there an option to turn the feature off altogether as with my experience with VideoReDo, it will be more trouble than it is worth?  However, I will reserve my judgement till after I have the Skippa and tried it 'in the flesh".
+100
Cheers,
Judy
Windows 7 Media Center; Last Update Feb 20 2006; Beyonwiz T4, T2

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2015, 07:46:56 AM »
When the IceTV branded PVR was first announced, one feature that I said would be important was the ability to combine consecutive timers on the same LCN, either globally or manually for particular instances. This feature is apparently not included.

I would prefer the ability to adjust pre and post padding for individual timers; definitely you should be able to set different padding for each Network or each LCN.

Ian

Offline nis200sx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2015, 04:07:07 PM »
When the IceTV branded PVR was first announced, one feature that I said would be important was the ability to combine consecutive timers on the same LCN, either globally or manually for particular instances. This feature is apparently not included.

I would prefer the ability to adjust pre and post padding for individual timers; definitely you should be able to set different padding for each Network or each LCN.

You'd only need a minimal setting for the national channels (ABC and SBS) and another setting for the commercial channels.

But maybe also one for certain genres. e.g. Set a global setting in your account online to add an extra 30, 45 or 60 minutes to live sport.
Dave

Offline csutak40

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1123
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2015, 04:43:04 PM »
When the IceTV branded PVR was first announced, one feature that I said would be important was the ability to combine consecutive timers on the same LCN, either globally or manually for particular instances. This feature is apparently not included.

I would prefer the ability to adjust pre and post padding for individual timers; definitely you should be able to set different padding for each Network or each LCN.

You'd only need a minimal setting for the national channels (ABC and SBS) and another setting for the commercial channels.

But maybe also one for certain genres. e.g. Set a global setting in your account online to add an extra 30, 45 or 60 minutes to live sport.
Except, as far as I can tell, none of these options are available  :'(

Offline nis200sx

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2015, 04:51:19 PM »
Except, as far as I can tell, none of these options are available  :'(

Correct. We're just brainstorming what smart padding options we'd want added to the website. This way they'd benefit all IceTV compatible recorders and not just skippa.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Skippa Time Padding
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2015, 05:09:55 PM »
Correct. We're just brainstorming what smart padding options we'd want added to the website. This way they'd benefit all IceTV compatible recorders and not just skippa.

Indeed that was what I was doing.

Once we get our hands on one, we should start a thread on improvements we would like to see.

Ian


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
I have a Skippa I no longer want

Started by SpocksBeer on SKIPPA

0 Replies
807 Views
Last post August 23, 2019, 09:37:14 AM
by SpocksBeer
xx
Skippa remote control needed RCU

Started by Ricci on SKIPPA

1 Replies
1666 Views
Last post March 14, 2019, 08:59:35 PM
by bodogbodog
xx
Skippa for free

Started by epochalyptic on SKIPPA

2 Replies
1375 Views
Last post March 13, 2019, 07:08:26 AM
by Ricci
xx
Skippa for sale - still in original box

Started by danauld on SKIPPA

1 Replies
2451 Views
Last post October 13, 2018, 01:37:28 PM
by MD