Author Topic: Skippa has stopped recording  (Read 1858 times)

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Skippa has stopped recording
« on: April 19, 2016, 11:21:29 PM »
My Skippa has stopped recording.
The timers seem to be coming in OK, but the recordings are not happening.
I have also tried just pressing record and nothing happens
I also tried recording from the EPG.  The R appears for about 30 seconds and then disappears.  No recording as well.
The appears to be plenty of space on the drive.
I have rebooted several times.

I'm out of ideas
Toppy, 2400, Toppy 2460, Skippa

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1015
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa has stopped recording
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2016, 07:50:03 AM »
You could try reformatting the internal HDD. Aside from that I cannot suggest anything.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2 + U4
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and oztoppy Forum for Toppy help

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa has stopped recording
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2016, 05:23:23 PM »
Hi Tim,

When you say you have rebooted several times do you mean by selecting "Reboot" from 'Menu > Settings > General'? If not then you aren't rebooting.

Try a factory reset:
http://support.icetv.com.au/entries/95752697-How-do-I-reset-my-SKIPPA-and-set-it-up-again

Try reloading the software:
http://support.icetv.com.au/entries/97066117-How-to-update-the-software-from-a-USB-stick
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa has stopped recording
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2016, 09:56:04 AM »
Thanks Dave and Ian,
Its working again.
I tried a factory reset without success, but formatting the drive did the trick.
Although I suspect that both may have been needed.

I also think I may have discovered the cause.
I had added a converter to another unit that needed power from a USB port.
I used the USB port on the Skippa. That was about when the recordings stopped.
Perhaps it dropped the power supply voltage to the hard drive enough to make the unit think it wasn't there.
 

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa has stopped recording
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2016, 02:19:30 PM »
I also think I may have discovered the cause.
I had added a converter to another unit that needed power from a USB port.
I used the USB port on the Skippa. That was about when the recordings stopped.
Perhaps it dropped the power supply voltage to the hard drive enough to make the unit think it wasn't there.

That sounds plausible. Maybe the drop in voltage was enough to corrupt the hard drive's file system when the Skippa was writing a recording to the drive.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Skippa in need of a new home

Started by Mantorok on SKIPPA

1 Replies
921 Views
Last post January 24, 2020, 06:14:06 AM
by Mantorok
xx
I have a Skippa I no longer want

Started by SpocksBeer on SKIPPA

0 Replies
1554 Views
Last post August 23, 2019, 09:37:14 AM
by SpocksBeer
xx
Skippa remote control needed RCU

Started by Ricci on SKIPPA

1 Replies
1959 Views
Last post March 14, 2019, 08:59:35 PM
by bodogbodog
xx
Skippa for free

Started by epochalyptic on SKIPPA

2 Replies
1536 Views
Last post March 13, 2019, 07:08:26 AM
by Ricci