Author Topic: SKIPPA causes network overload  (Read 1801 times)

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
SKIPPA causes network overload
« on: July 01, 2016, 05:02:25 PM »
I was testing a SKIPPA I got for spare parts (it had no power supply) and HDMI does not work. I was testing to see if there were any other issues and after about 24 hours it flooded the network (wild flickering on front of two network switches and the router) with traffic to such an extent that I could not access the internet. Unplugged the SKIPPA from the network and internet access was restored. Looks like it is definitely a spare parts SKIPPA.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help
ozSKIPPA wiki coming soon (I hope)

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2016, 05:56:17 PM »
It could be just a dry solder joint somewhere common to the HDMI and network circuitry. Or maybe just the HDMI fault was enough to send the operating system into loop.

The Skippa on your 2nd account has the old buggy 10600 software. Maybe reset it and update it to 10604 and give it another test before deciding its fate.

I assume that is the Skippa you were testing as it was connecting to IceTV every 10 minutes until 8:53am today when it stopped connecting.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2016, 11:32:53 AM »
Hi Dave

Yes, it is the one that stopped connecting to the server (called SKIPPA3 on my second account). I will load the new firmware on that unit and see if it still misbehaves.

Ian

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2016, 03:33:49 PM »
Tried to update the firmware. The Toppy had gone into auto-standby mode and the time was way out. I plugged in the Ethernet cable and inserted the USB stick; the SKIPPA spontaneously rebooted and does not finish booting - it stalls before anything appears on screen. Tried unplugging the Toppy and leaving it unplugged for extended time. Tried (two times) to start it up and it froze during the boot process. Looks like it is well and truly dead this time.

Ian

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2016, 03:44:35 PM »
Tried (two times) to start it up and it froze during the boot process. Looks like it is well and truly dead this time.

It does sound terminal. I'd still open it up and check for a loose SATA cable connection or dry solder joints, or if any electronic components show signs of overheating (burn marks on the circuit board or transistors, or swollen electrolytic capacitors etc). It's a pity warkus isn't around (hope he is doing okay).

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2016, 04:38:35 PM »
I have not heard from Warkus for a long time now. His business is still doing component sales, but not (apparently) doing repairs. Several Toppy owners have purchased replacement Toppy HDD cables from him at my suggestion over the last 6 months.

Ian

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: SKIPPA causes network overload
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2016, 04:59:29 PM »
I opened up the SKIPPA and there are no obvious issues with the CAPs and the power and SATA connections seem to be OK. No indication of burning. I suppose it could be a dead HDD. Will test it tomorrow and advise if that is the cause.

It is not a power supply issue, I connected the power supply to the SKIPPA it belongs to and it booted normally.

Update: Took the HDD out an looked at its content with UFS Explorer Standard Recovery and the files seemed to be OK. I will do a HDD check to confirm there are no physical problems.

Ian
« Last Edit: July 03, 2016, 11:10:52 AM by IanL-S »


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Skippa remote control needed RCU

Started by Ricci on SKIPPA

1 Replies
1199 Views
Last post March 14, 2019, 08:59:35 PM
by bodogbodog
xx
Skippa for free

Started by epochalyptic on SKIPPA

2 Replies
1262 Views
Last post March 13, 2019, 07:08:26 AM
by Ricci
xx
Skippa for sale - still in original box

Started by danauld on SKIPPA

1 Replies
2331 Views
Last post October 13, 2018, 01:37:28 PM
by MD
xx
Skippa Power Supply Needed

Started by Les on SKIPPA

3 Replies
3787 Views
Last post April 26, 2018, 08:43:34 AM
by Les