Author Topic: Skippa Bug  (Read 15803 times)

Offline stretch4x4

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #30 on: September 25, 2015, 09:54:45 PM »
I have done the update and not having any issues so far (I noticed the main menu changed!)

@Dave Can you tell me why my series recording for Scorpion is only showing up in my week for one channel (one) and not the primary ep that is on Sunday on ten? I thought because I said series record any episode, any channel and any time it should get everything..?
Also is it possible for us to get release notes for the firmware versions? Would be great to know what fixes are being put in place :)

Cheers

Offline SkippaBeat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #31 on: September 25, 2015, 10:17:23 PM »
After latest update my clock/time is still not updating and Skippa won't turn on/off with remote, or power button.  Pulled plug and waited 30 secs and replugged.  Now just sitting there with Icetv splash screen and Loading tv guide... in corner.  Think I will go to bed  :(

As I was about to turn everything off and it started initialising again and dropped back out to TV.  That must have taken nearly 10 mins.

Can't do anything else, as no remote commands are working.

I have waited 5 mins @Dave, so how long before remote is recognised?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 10:24:38 PM by SkippaBeat »

Offline stretch4x4

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2015, 10:22:01 PM »
Just tried to create a new series recording on the skippa and it said it was contacting the server and wouldn't do anything else.. gave it 10 minutes then turned put it in standby because we got sick of waiting.. No idea if it added it or not, appears not..  :-[

Offline obiuquido144

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #33 on: September 25, 2015, 10:25:31 PM »
Just set up the Skippa. No issues with the remote for me (my TV is Samsung).

However, in the EPG all shows on all channels are listed with  'Unavailable' as their name and with no metadata, despite network connection being fine and running the latest 10579 firmware. The EPG wasn't working prior to the FW update either.

Tried the 'Reset EPG' option in the Settings menu. No change after reboot.

Also the unit wobbles on the table up and down by about 1.5mm.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 10:32:59 PM by obiuquido144 »

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #34 on: September 25, 2015, 10:29:41 PM »
I have done the update and not having any issues so far (I noticed the main menu changed!)

You probably didn't use it long enough before the update to notice the changes in the guide. Movies have the year after the title. Shows with season and episode numbers show those in the subtitle. All shows display the country of origin, language, director and actors when available. No other PVR makes full use of the meta data available from IceTV like the Skippa does.

@Dave Can you tell me why my series recording for Scorpion is only showing up in my week for one channel (one) and not the primary ep that is on Sunday on ten? I thought because I said series record any episode, any channel and any time it should get everything..?

Sounds like you have it set to HD Only. One is HD while Ten is SD.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #35 on: September 25, 2015, 10:32:02 PM »
Just set up the Skippa. No issues with the remote for me (my TV is Samsung).

However, in the EPG all shows on all channels are listed with  'Unavailable' as their name and with no metadata, despite network connection being fine and running the latest 10579 firmware. The EPG wasn't working prior to the FW update either.

Check the region in your account.
https://www.icetv.com.au/cgi-bin/webmembers.cgi

If you change the region you will need to select Restart from Menu > Settings > General.

Offline stretch4x4

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #36 on: September 25, 2015, 10:36:01 PM »
Thanks Dave,

Pretty sure I put all of the settings on record everything.. (IE Prefer HD) But will check again.. Although I think now I have managed to get it in a state of limbo.. It's not showing up as having a series recording anymore but when I try to add a new one it complains..
Quote
Error: a series recording for this show already exists.

The updates to use the metadata sound good  8) but yeah you are right I hadn't used it long enough to notice that.

Offline obiuquido144

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #37 on: September 25, 2015, 10:48:43 PM »
Changing my region in the web UI and resetting the EPG did the trick. (I did a full EPG reset rather than just reboot as suggested).

Thank you Dave! Your help at this hour is much appreciated!

Offline EdQld

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #38 on: September 25, 2015, 10:59:00 PM »
Now this is getting Very frustrating  >:(

Yesterday a Series Recording failed to record and tonight a Movie failed to record (they both show up on "My Week", both PC & Skippa (with "R" in front of their names)

A PVR that doesn't record shows, not what you want to see  :'(


Offline GXK

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #39 on: September 26, 2015, 01:08:31 AM »
Hello. I also have had a program not record. It is still in my week scheduled to record yesterday... Going to leave it there to see what happens.

Offline SkippaBeat

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #40 on: September 26, 2015, 08:08:23 AM »
Are you guys getting the time updating in standby? 

Anyone else having this problem, or do I have to assume I have a faulty Skippa?

Offline stretch4x4

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #41 on: September 26, 2015, 08:37:15 AM »
My time appears to be updating so something seems wrong with yours skippabeat :(

Offline EdQld

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #42 on: September 26, 2015, 11:48:52 AM »
No response in the Forum or to my Support email with my Skippa failing to record shows or the sync problem, disappointing  :'(
 

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 994
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #43 on: September 26, 2015, 11:57:00 AM »
No response in the Forum or to my Support email with my Skippa failing to record shows or the sync problem, disappointing  :'(

It takes a while for the support team to work through accumulated support request. Also, their hours are limited to 12 noon 8.00 pm Monday to  Friday and 12 noon to 6.00 pm Saturday and Sunday. I think this is quite good coverage.

I have found the support to be very good over the 9 years plus I have been dealing with them. It is not unusual for me to get emails from Dave several hours after he officially clocks off. You do not see service like that very often.

Ian

PS The tech support team also does sales support so they are probably very busy with sales related questions as I understand that the second shipment of Toppys SKIPPAs has now arrived and may already have started shipping.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2015, 03:31:11 PM by IanL-S »
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2 + U4
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help

Offline mac37

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: Skippa Bug
« Reply #44 on: September 26, 2015, 02:08:36 PM »


PS The tech support team also does sales support so they are probably very busy with sales related questions as I understand that the second shipment of Toppys has now arrived and may already have started shipping.


Toppys ? ???
Mac
Humax HDR 7500T, Beyonwiz T2 X 2
IceTV Interactive EPG - HDMI to LG LCD LED 50 &  Linden 65


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
I have a Skippa I no longer want

Started by SpocksBeer on SKIPPA

0 Replies
820 Views
Last post August 23, 2019, 09:37:14 AM
by SpocksBeer
xx
Skippa remote control needed RCU

Started by Ricci on SKIPPA

1 Replies
1672 Views
Last post March 14, 2019, 08:59:35 PM
by bodogbodog
xx
Skippa for free

Started by epochalyptic on SKIPPA

2 Replies
1376 Views
Last post March 13, 2019, 07:08:26 AM
by Ricci
xx
Skippa for sale - still in original box

Started by danauld on SKIPPA

1 Replies
2454 Views
Last post October 13, 2018, 01:37:28 PM
by MD