Author Topic: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane  (Read 1604 times)

Offline sanmarco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« on: September 29, 2015, 06:26:41 PM »
I have tried both auto and manual scans; turned off; changed leads; re-booted and all things I could think of. 7 is ok with my Beyonwiz and TV.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 10:16:55 PM »
Have you tried a reset to factory settings? With other PVRs it is possible for settings to become corrupted which can be fixed by a reset to factory settings. To be succeesful you may need to use the Restart function which hopefully will tidy things up further (merely pressing the pow button puts the SKIPPA into sleep mode ... it does not reboot when it comes out.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help
ozSKIPPA wiki coming soon (I hope)

Offline sanmarco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2015, 06:24:27 PM »
Tried the reset; manual scan changed leads but to no avail. Very disillusioned with this product. My old Beyonwiz still works and does not have these problems.
In the absence of a satisfactory solution I will return this unit.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2015, 06:28:52 PM »
I assume you have discussed this with IceTV technical support?

Ian

Offline sanmarco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2015, 10:00:58 PM »
Yes I have. But support requires leaving a message for them to ring back which is usually 1 or 2 days.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2015, 07:41:12 AM »
Yes I have. But support requires leaving a message for them to ring back which is usually 1 or 2 days.

Yes, they are a little overwhelmed at the moment with sales matters.

I am at loss to explain what you are experiencing. As I mentioned earlier I have seen this happen, but it usually capable of being fixed by a new EPG scan. My recollection is that all the Transmitters in Brisbane are relatively close together which probably rules out physical obstruction of the signal. Not sure how the scan works, but it is possible that the process used by the SKIPPA looks for the best transmission for a particular network and has found two of equal quality and has been unable to work out which one to use. But I am probably overestimating the sophistication of the scanning process - it does not explain why you manual scan of channel 6 is not finding anything for the 7 Network.

Ian

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1215
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2015, 09:44:57 AM »
As Ian has said, yes our support and sales load has increased a bit recently so it can take a little longer than usual to get a response back or get through on the phones and we are working with the guys to get this under control so we can continue to provide the great support everyone has come to expect from us.

As for not scanning channel 7, this one is definitely unusual and we are having a look over to see if we have any ideas. Will come back with any suggestions to try.
Regards,

Daniel.
CTO.

Offline sanmarco

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Scan will not find channel 7 Brisbane
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2015, 06:13:32 PM »
Hello Daniel, Thank you for your response. It appears that the tuner may be failing as the only channels watchable are : one; 10; 11; 12; 14 &  15.
All others have a serious loss of signal strength. 7 is still not found. I have checked signal strength at the TV and at the Beyonwiz; both have excellent signal.
The reason I suspect the tuner is that these other unwatchable channels were ok after the first scan.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Scandal

Started by Tezza007 on IceTV EPG Content

1 Replies
693 Views
Last post October 12, 2017, 04:26:47 PM
by Tiphanee
xx
Picture too big - overscanning T2

Started by GeoffU on Beyonwiz

2 Replies
1145 Views
Last post September 23, 2017, 12:20:39 PM
by prl
question
Channel Scan gave screwy LCNs for Channel 7, 7HD, 7fix

Started by ozbear on Windows 7 Media Center

14 Replies
3414 Views
Last post June 11, 2017, 06:55:31 PM
by raymondjpg
xx
Scandal Tonight Not a Repeat

Started by Tezza007 on IceTV EPG Content

8 Replies
971 Views
Last post June 08, 2016, 10:19:28 AM
by Tezza007