Author Topic: Do i need an active paid account to use Skippa?  (Read 1218 times)

Offline Marty_46

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Do i need an active paid account to use Skippa?
« on: November 26, 2015, 11:39:31 PM »
I barely watch TV and when I bought my Skippa I thought that I could at least have standard PVR functionality without having a paid IceTV account. Was I wrong?

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Do i need an active paid account to use Skippa?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2015, 12:04:25 AM »
Yes.

One of the drawbacks of Skippa is that it can't access a Free to Air Program Guide.  The original IceTV were offering a Lifetime subscription, so it wasn't an issue. 

However, when the original IceTV went belly up (because of the Skippa). The new IceTV couldn't support the Lifetime subscriptions. Hence the problem.

The simple solution is the use your refund (If you used PayPal or a credit card to purchase- i.e Goods purchased not supplied) to pay for the IceTv subscriptions.  That will get you about 4 years worth.

I'm not sure whether the Skippa will display channels without IceTV or not.  Please enlighten us.
Toppy, 2400, Toppy 2460, Skippa

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 991
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: Do i need an active paid account to use Skippa?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2015, 09:33:32 AM »
The SKIPPA EPG only show those LCNs for which IceTV provides EPG data. So no racing.com, eXtra or the like. But you do get SBS Food Network and the new 9Life.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2 + U4
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Do i need an active paid account to use Skippa?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2015, 12:44:59 PM »
Marty,

There is a software bug in version 1.1.10600 that stops AutoSkip and IceTV from working. This bug and others have been fixed in the latest software update, version 1.1.10604. As this update was never uploaded to the auto-update server you will need to update via a USB stick / USB thumb drive.

The following link has a link to download the software update and explains how to update the Skippa from a USB stick.
http://support.icetv.com.au/entries/97066117-How-to-update-the-software-from-a-USB-stick
cheers

Dave
Customer Service


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Street Outlaws 'Showdown Lowdown' first showing, not a repeat - AGAIN

Started by aeb001 on IceTV EPG Content

2 Replies
57 Views
Last post September 15, 2019, 11:11:16 AM
by aeb001
xx
Sync doesn't seem to work

Started by csutak40 on Beyonwiz

17 Replies
856 Views
Last post February 21, 2019, 05:21:16 PM
by Daniel Hall at IceTV
xx
What, exactly does the "This time" recording option do?

Started by prl on Smart Recording website and General questions

3 Replies
1134 Views
Last post February 08, 2019, 12:52:35 PM
by prl
xx
WMC running in Windows 10 but IceTV not recording

Started by dataplex on Windows 8 Media Center

2 Replies
624 Views
Last post January 12, 2019, 07:05:54 PM
by dataplex