Author Topic: Channel Scanning Bug  (Read 1441 times)

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Channel Scanning Bug
« on: October 01, 2015, 08:18:03 PM »
On setting up my Skippa for the first time I scanned the channels and blocked the channels I didn't want. There two channel 9s one for Brisbane and one for the Gold Coast. I then set some timers on my IPhone IceTV App.
The Timers came in OK, but the next morning, the Skippa had a password prompt on the screen and I found that pressing 9 seemed to attempt to change to the Blocked channel (Gold Coast). I also found that an expired timer for Channel 9 was showing in My Week. A little bit of fiddling revealed that I should have Disabled the channel rather than blocked it and I thought everything would be ok. Pressing 9 on the remote now brought up channel Nine ok.
When I got home from work I found another expired timer for channel 9. As an experiment I disabled channel Nine and enabled it again and waited for the next channel Nine timer and it worked fine, and has continued to work ever since.
I decided to do the same on all the channels I wanted just in case. 
I am not sure if it was a bug of a glitch while scanning, but I thought it was at least reporting.
Toppy, 2400, Toppy 2460, Skippa

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 09:20:34 PM »
You needed to disable any duplicate channels, or channels with weak signals, as you did in the end.
  • Blocking the channel just means it needs the Parental Controls PIN to view (called PG PIN).
  • Disabling the channel hides it from the whole system (guide, info, channel changing etc).

Any Shopping or Datacasting channels can also be disabled. You can also disable the Radio channels if you never watch them.

If you disable the simulcast channels it will also help reduce the number of channels in the guide. i.e. Disable either 2 or 21, and two of 7,70 and 71 (or 6, 60 and 61 for regional areas) and 1 or 12 for city areas.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2015, 11:13:05 PM »
Yes I had already done as you suggested, however it doesn't explain why I needed to Disable and re-enable channel nine though.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2015, 08:28:33 PM »
however it doesn't explain why I needed to Disable and re-enable channel nine though.

Just guessing but maybe it was related to the new simulcast channels from Nine.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Darwin Channel 10 - not showing in guide

Started by steve1278 on General Discussions

7 Replies
98 Views
Last post September 17, 2020, 05:16:35 PM
by steve1278
xx
Channel 7 TV Guide

Started by Macca24 on IceTV EPG Content

0 Replies
40 Views
Last post September 16, 2020, 05:17:45 PM
by Macca24
clip
Channel 12 and Channel 13 not showing up in guide - Darwin - Humax HDR-7500T

Started by steve1278 on IceTV EPG Content

0 Replies
56 Views
Last post September 12, 2020, 11:59:39 AM
by steve1278
xx
epg content missing for Adelaide Channel 44

Started by chopper on IceTV EPG Content

8 Replies
173 Views
Last post August 04, 2020, 12:45:51 PM
by chopper