Author Topic: Channel Scanning Bug  (Read 1194 times)

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Channel Scanning Bug
« on: October 01, 2015, 08:18:03 PM »
On setting up my Skippa for the first time I scanned the channels and blocked the channels I didn't want. There two channel 9s one for Brisbane and one for the Gold Coast. I then set some timers on my IPhone IceTV App.
The Timers came in OK, but the next morning, the Skippa had a password prompt on the screen and I found that pressing 9 seemed to attempt to change to the Blocked channel (Gold Coast). I also found that an expired timer for Channel 9 was showing in My Week. A little bit of fiddling revealed that I should have Disabled the channel rather than blocked it and I thought everything would be ok. Pressing 9 on the remote now brought up channel Nine ok.
When I got home from work I found another expired timer for channel 9. As an experiment I disabled channel Nine and enabled it again and waited for the next channel Nine timer and it worked fine, and has continued to work ever since.
I decided to do the same on all the channels I wanted just in case. 
I am not sure if it was a bug of a glitch while scanning, but I thought it was at least reporting.
Toppy, 2400, Toppy 2460, Skippa

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 09:20:34 PM »
You needed to disable any duplicate channels, or channels with weak signals, as you did in the end.
  • Blocking the channel just means it needs the Parental Controls PIN to view (called PG PIN).
  • Disabling the channel hides it from the whole system (guide, info, channel changing etc).

Any Shopping or Datacasting channels can also be disabled. You can also disable the Radio channels if you never watch them.

If you disable the simulcast channels it will also help reduce the number of channels in the guide. i.e. Disable either 2 or 21, and two of 7,70 and 71 (or 6, 60 and 61 for regional areas) and 1 or 12 for city areas.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline TimC

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2015, 11:13:05 PM »
Yes I had already done as you suggested, however it doesn't explain why I needed to Disable and re-enable channel nine though.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Channel Scanning Bug
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2015, 08:28:33 PM »
however it doesn't explain why I needed to Disable and re-enable channel nine though.

Just guessing but maybe it was related to the new simulcast channels from Nine.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
New SBS channel

Started by Melb137 on IceTV EPG Content

2 Replies
292 Views
Last post May 29, 2019, 01:04:41 PM
by prl
xx
Manual Channel Tuning Problems

Started by Wills13 on General Discussions

0 Replies
253 Views
Last post January 23, 2019, 10:37:23 PM
by Wills13
xx
Can not retrieve channel map: The IceTV server can not be reached

Started by raymondjpg on Beyonwiz

6 Replies
675 Views
Last post November 03, 2018, 04:07:15 PM
by raymondjpg
xx
Channel Ten Rebrand

Started by DaveBinM on IceTV EPG Content

5 Replies
529 Views
Last post November 04, 2018, 06:34:27 PM
by chopper