Series now recording both SD and HD

Started by dion, July 27, 2009, 06:51:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dion

Hi guys,

I have been using IceTV with media center for ages (since 2006), but recently the way my media center handles shows that are on an SD and HD channel has changed.

I should start by saying that I set my recording defaults to "any channel", (I do this to pick up shows that are sometimes shown in HD and other times not)

An example of how this has changed is Double Take on 7 and 7HD.

Previously, once I set this as a series to record it would record either the showing on 7 or the showing on 7HD, and I could go into the guide and change it between SD and HD as I wanted. Now that same series will record both showings. It does not seem to realise that they are exactly the same show.

Off the top of my head this happening to Double Take, TV Burp, Iron Chef America & Food Investigators. But other shows like Desperate Housewives and Brothers & Sisters still behave the old way (the way I like it!).

Any help would be great.

Regards, Dion.

tonymy01

You chose "For All Channels" rather than "For this channel only" when you setup the series record probably.   The only way from ICE to achieve a series record on one rather than the other without knowing the channel for sure it may end up on is to use keyword recordings rather than series and choose the "HD/SD" preference.   I think this all goes soon as ICE introduces the new interactive they have been promising for ages, and we finally get what we have all been begging for: better handling of SD vs HD for series recordings.
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

dion

you're right, I do set my recordings for all channels, but I have always done this. It is only recently that it has started to record both SD and HD versions.