Author Topic: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.  (Read 6110 times)

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« on: April 11, 2016, 07:10:56 PM »
It's the first time I've experienced this, but here in Sydney, the current EPG data is causing my Toppy 2400 to continuously reboot.

It's happening on both my 2400 Toppies, so I don't think there's much doubt that it's a gremlin in the EPG data stream that has plagued us a while ago.


« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 07:12:47 PM by JPP »
Phil.
Beyonwiz T2, DVDO Duo Video Processor

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2016, 07:24:43 PM »
Phil

In Melbourn I am not seeing this with any of my 2400s.

Have you tried decreasing the number of LCNs being sent to your 2400 (assuming that you usually have data for all LCNs)?

Ian

IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help
ozSKIPPA wiki coming soon (I hope)

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2016, 08:08:33 PM »
Thanks for the heads up Ian.

I've been AWOL for quite a while and only vaguely remember the discussions about this issue. Are you suggesting that an excessive amount of EPG data can also cause the same problem? This would imply that this condition or the trigger for it is "time" dependant, i.e. some days there could just be enough or too much data that will bring this condition on, whilst on other days all is OK.

I have all Sydney channels enabled, but only ONE LCN for each service.

Bear in mind that this just happened tonight - nothing anywhere was changed. Until now, I've never had the problem.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 08:15:26 PM by JPP »

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2016, 08:57:26 PM »
Yes, the Toppy can be overwhelmed by the data that is downloaded. I understand the matter has been referred to the Topfield engineers in Korea. There is a discussion of this issue in the thread below:

http://forum.icetv.com.au/iceforum/topfield/9/trf-2400-plus-tf7100hdpvrt-reboot-when-logging-in-to-icetv-melbourne/5051/

It is strange that with duplicate LCNs disabled you are having this happen.

I assume that you have ruled out DLNA probing by another devices is not the culprit - Power DVD is one of the offenders. There is a discussion of the issue on the oztoppy wiki:
http://oztoppy.wikidot.com/pvr-restarts

Hope this helps you work out the exact problem.

Ian

Offline cdbrawn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2016, 09:40:14 PM »
I am having the same problem, in Sydney also.

I assumed the HD had fried, pulled the thing apart and replaced the drive, only for it to continue to happen.  Only then was I smart enough  ;D to disable IceTV & then come here.

Disabled 3 channels I never record / watch and that seems to have done the trick... Fingers crossed.

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2016, 10:40:17 PM »
All good here in Sydney now. My guess is that the recalcitrant character has been removed or simply replaced by fresh EPG data that no longer contained the same character. Or, reduced the amount of data.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 10:46:01 PM by JPP »

Offline wandikani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2016, 09:24:39 PM »
I've deleted all unnecessary channels and it's still happening tonight.  I'm in Sydney. 
It stops rebooting as soon as I disable IceTV but as soon as I enable it, the rebooting starts again.
I'd appreciate some comment from IceTv. 

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 982
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2016, 08:54:47 AM »
Obviously something specific to Sydney causing this; none of my IceTV enabled devices are rebooting.

Ian

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2016, 09:03:16 AM »
I've deleted all unnecessary channels and it's still happening tonight.  I'm in Sydney. 
It stops rebooting as soon as I disable IceTV but as soon as I enable it, the rebooting starts again.
I'd appreciate some comment from IceTv.
Yes, and it happened to me again too last night. Like you, I deleted many channels and it still happened.

Daniel or Dave, are you hearing this? It has all the hallmarks of rogue characters in the EPG stream.


Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2016, 12:36:25 PM »
We have worked out that it is the data in ABC One's guide that is causing the problem. We are looking for the culprit character now.
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2016, 01:19:10 PM »
Thanks Dave. Glad that you've found the cause. How are things coming along with an automated system for locating and removal of these rogue characters - I think I remember you mentioning sometime ago that work would be undertaken to do this.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2016, 01:42:46 PM »
How are things coming along with an automated system for locating and removal of these rogue characters

I was wondering that myself.

Offline paulgraham

  • IceTV Beta
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2016, 03:50:05 PM »
We have worked out that it is the data in ABC One's guide that is causing the problem. We are looking for the culprit character now.

Is it resolved yet?

Offline JPP

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
    • View Profile
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2016, 04:37:24 PM »
It seems to be... my Toppy has now been running for about 10 min and still OK. Normally, if it's going to reboot, it takes about a min or less or as it can take as long as 2 min after a complete bootup sequence.

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: ICETV EPG crashing Topfield 2400 again.
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2016, 05:00:30 PM »
It looks fixed on my Topfield.

We did find and remove a certain character from the ABC guide. After enabling ABC in my account and resetting the EPG on the Topfield it rebooted twice then settled down. That was 40 minutes ago.

After you enable ABC in your account, or enable IceTV on the Topfield if it is disabled, you should 'Reset EPG Data' with the Red F1 (function) button while in the Topfield's IceTV menu. It may reboot once or twice but should be okay after that.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Common setup pitfalls using IceTV with Plex

Started by Daniel Hall at IceTV on Plex

0 Replies
96 Views
Last post July 01, 2019, 05:33:55 PM
by Daniel Hall at IceTV
xx
Setup IceTV on Plex server on Qnap TS 251+ with HDHomerun Connect

Started by Iceplex on Plex

25 Replies
401 Views
Last post July 18, 2019, 11:01:01 PM
by bjg_3029
xx
Full IceTV Subscription vs Plex Subscription

Started by Peter_H on Plex

8 Replies
289 Views
Last post July 16, 2019, 02:45:11 PM
by Daniel Hall at IceTV
xx
WMC running in Windows 10 but IceTV not recording

Started by dataplex on Windows 8 Media Center

2 Replies
514 Views
Last post January 12, 2019, 07:05:54 PM
by dataplex