Author Topic: Any feedback on Humax  (Read 19174 times)

Offline chrispydog

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #30 on: February 13, 2012, 04:13:13 PM »
Thanks Swamprat, I'l give that a go when I get home.

Offline chrispydog

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #31 on: February 14, 2012, 09:37:59 AM »
Still can't get Filezilla to read the thing even though it actually connects. Is it because the Humax O/S is Linux? And that explains the transfer via USB as readable by WMP but not directly over the network?

Another quirk, now that I've connected the Humax to the network with Wifi, it does not automatically reconnect after being in standby unless you also disable the power saving option, and then it does. OK, I can easily live with that.


I did find on a UK forum where someone had done what I'd found ie transfer the URL for the saved file from WMP and put it into VLC, so it seems there really is some system incompatibility there.

But the PS3 is the only device I have on the network which will both read and play the files on the Humax without juggling the data.

So until WMP is able to do so, I'll just use VLC and if I ever need to use an XP box, I can easily send the URL to it.

Conclusion: very good PVR, some networking issues, plenty of grunt, good interface (IceTV), and yes, goodbye Foxtel!

Mission Accomplished, (as the man once said).

Offline swamprat96

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 236
  • Humax HDR7500T
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #32 on: February 14, 2012, 10:20:04 AM »
Hmm. All three of my PC's here are win7- but I can't see why that would make a difference as we are both using filezilla. Do you see three directories? Or nothing at all. Is the fault when you click on those directories?

I wonder if a factory reset might be worth a try? Maybe those three directories have been changed


Offline Cods

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #33 on: March 12, 2012, 01:07:10 PM »
I bit the bullet and ordered the 1TB Humax 7500T, which was delivered on Monday.
Unfortunately, whilst it turns on fine, I get nothing on screen on my Panasonic plasma, whether connected via HDMI or Component video.
I've spent an hour or so buggerising around with the TV settings trying to work out what the issue is, and I still can't get any picture whatsoever to display.
Any tips?

Just for anyone reading my earlier post and concerned about it, I strongly suspect it's due to my TV.
Short version is:
  • It's a US Panasonic plasma from 2009 brought back to Australia.
  • The TV seems to have problems with what can only be HDCP handshake.
  • The HDCP handshake issue only occurs with HD inputs that are from hardware from Australia.
Same thing as happened with the Humax also happened with an Australian TiVo, same thing happens when trying to play BluRay discs from an Australian PS3 (although games and DVDs on the PS3 are fine).
Seems obvious now that, even though it just shouldn't be a problem, the TV firmware is not set up to do HDCP handshakes with non-North American HD inputs.
No problem with the Humax unit.
Elgato Netstream DTT (recording with MacBook Pro, streaming to iPad2).
Looking for a PVR - advice wanted!

Offline swamprat96

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 236
  • Humax HDR7500T
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #34 on: March 12, 2012, 03:32:38 PM »
as I understand it- US TV's accept only a 60Hz signal. As Australia's standard is 50 Hz they won't play here. Its done deliberately by the manufacturers to prevent cheaper US models making their way to the lucrative asian market. Panasonic, Samsung and several others are known to do this. Some US Sony models work.

But what foxes me is that you obviously are receiving FTA TV OK. You'd "think" that if free to air works- the rest would

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3228
    • View Profile
Re: Any feedback on Humax
« Reply #35 on: March 12, 2012, 04:57:10 PM »
Can the Humax be set to a 60Hz ("NTSC") output mode? That might keep the TV happy, though conversion from 50Hz to 60Hz is often not done well.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Queen Elizabeth's Secret Agents - too many commas!

Started by prl on IceTV EPG Content

2 Replies
475 Views
Last post January 04, 2019, 11:00:23 PM
by prl
xx
Yahoo Widget still my favourite - any chance for a channel name update?

Started by JPP on Yahoo! Widget

4 Replies
4032 Views
Last post November 13, 2017, 11:58:44 PM
by yereverluvinunclebert
xx
Anyone lose channel 11 in Melbourne

Started by aja07 on Windows 7 Media Center

5 Replies
1715 Views
Last post December 20, 2016, 03:19:24 PM
by aja07
xx
Thumbnails for shows in xmltv file any chance of future support.

Started by denny09 on XMLTV (General)

5 Replies
3166 Views
Last post December 16, 2016, 11:12:32 AM
by sam3667