Author Topic: T2 Incomplete EPG Data  (Read 1500 times)

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« on: June 03, 2018, 09:08:58 PM »
For some reason my T2 only has a limited amount of EPG data, none on some channels, on Sunday 3 June, and forward through to Wednesday 6 June. It appears to be more complete from Thursday 7 June onwards.

Topfield TF7100HDPVRt, Beyonwiz DP-P2, Beyonwiz T2, Beyonwiz U4, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2200, Hauppauge WinTV-MiniStick 01240, Hauppauge WinTV-dualHD (x2)

Offline grumpy_geoff

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2018, 09:45:42 PM »
Try a complete fetch - disable IceTV, then re-enable IceTV, then fetch.

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2018, 10:54:08 PM »
Try a complete fetch - disable IceTV, then re-enable IceTV, then fetch.

I will probably resort to that once scheduled timers have completed.

I've seen this "solution" proposed before, but it doesn't seem to me to address the issue that caused the incomplete EPG data in the first place. Fetches are continuing regularly but the EPG is not updating completely.

Offline grampus

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 346
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2018, 09:23:54 AM »
Try a complete fetch - disable IceTV, then re-enable IceTV, then fetch.

I will probably resort to that once scheduled timers have completed.

I've seen this "solution" proposed before, but it doesn't seem to me to address the issue that caused the incomplete EPG data in the first place. Fetches are continuing regularly but the EPG is not updating completely.
I have also experienced n event similar sometime yesterday.
I tried a number of things,
Fetch Epg and timers
No change.  the fetch was of about 1 second duration.
Disable and enable Ice.
Similar result.
disabled ice, No EPG momentarily, then FTA epg entries start to appear,  ran through the channels to populate.
Enabled ice,
did a fetch again.  this time the load took some time.   
All was well again.
couldnít really say that any of the actions were the thing to trigger the fix.
Prior to the occurrence, i hadnít done any config, fetching, or any activity that may have triggered the problem.
Just kept batting away till I had a result.
BeyonWiz, T3

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2018, 09:57:12 AM »
You can force a full refresh of the guide by re-running the IceTV setup wizard from the plug-in menu. I am looking at a way of forcing a full update from the server end as well to try and plug any gaps.
Regards,

Daniel.
CTO.

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2018, 10:04:00 AM »
I have also experienced n event similar sometime yesterday.
I tried a number of things,
Fetch Epg and timers
No change.  the fetch was of about 1 second duration.
Disable and enable Ice.
Similar result.
disabled ice, No EPG momentarily, then FTA epg entries start to appear,  ran through the channels to populate.
Enabled ice,
did a fetch again.  this time the load took some time.   
All was well again.
couldnít really say that any of the actions were the thing to trigger the fix.
Prior to the occurrence, i hadnít done any config, fetching, or any activity that may have triggered the problem.
Just kept batting away till I had a result.

Thanks for advising that you had a similar issue yesterday. I may raise a support ticket if Ice doesn't appear to be aware of it.

Disabling then enabling IceTV and fetch fixed the issue for now, but that seems to me to be addressing the symptom rather than the cause.

Something like this was happening to some Topfield PVRs when they took exception to some character(s) in the EPG, but my recollection was in that case the PVR would not accept the Ice EPG at all. In this case with the T2 the sparsely populated EPG appeared to be restored from mid-week onwards.

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2018, 10:06:26 AM »
You can force a full refresh of the guide by re-running the IceTV setup wizard from the plug-in menu. I am looking at a way of forcing a full update from the server end as well to try and plug any gaps.

Thanks Daniel. That has been done and my EPG is restored (for now) but have you any idea why the T2 (and perhaps other BW T/U PVRs) have this issue in the first place?

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2018, 10:37:50 AM »
We are still tracking it down at the moment but it looks like a blip in the connectivity to our SQL server caused some caches on the server to get out of date and stop updating.

We are working on some updates so this doesn't occur again in the future, but also a way of forcing a full update from the server end so that 'if' something similar happens again we can push out a full guide update without any interaction required on the PVR.

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2018, 10:38:41 AM »
Also this could have affect all Beyonwiz T and U series boxes, the Humax 2tune and Skippa's.

Offline raymondjpg

  • IceTV Beta
  • Guru
  • *
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2018, 10:49:20 AM »
We are still tracking it down at the moment but it looks like a blip in the connectivity to our SQL server caused some caches on the server to get out of date and stop updating.

We are working on some updates so this doesn't occur again in the future, but also a way of forcing a full update from the server end so that 'if' something similar happens again we can push out a full guide update without any interaction required on the PVR.

Looks like you are on the case. Thanks.

Offline Daniel Hall at IceTV

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
    • View Profile
    • IceTV
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2018, 01:24:03 PM »
Ok, I have been able to have the server push a full update to everyone, this will fill in any gaps in the guide, will now work on a way to ensure this doesn't happen again.

Offline IanL-S

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 973
    • View Profile
    • IceTV SKIPPA wiki
Re: T2 Incomplete EPG Data
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2018, 05:09:55 AM »
Thanks Daniel.

I am on the road at the moment and would not have been able to address this issue. Not sufficiently familiar with T2/U4 to known if this would stuff up any timers - at least I have not had any notification emails.

Ian
IceTV: 2xTRF-2400 + 2xTF7100HDPVRt + SKIPPA + T2
No IceTV: a few Toppys
Synology NAS
Check out the oztoppy wiki and Topfield Aus Forum for Toppy help
ozSKIPPA wiki coming soon (I hope)


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
T2 Timer Issue post Daylight Saving

Started by raymondjpg on Beyonwiz

2 Replies
426 Views
Last post October 08, 2018, 03:24:12 PM
by raymondjpg
xx
No Repeat Flags on T2

Started by raymondjpg on Beyonwiz

2 Replies
1119 Views
Last post June 08, 2018, 09:49:28 AM
by raymondjpg
xx
Netgear N300 Wifi Adapter not recognised on Beyonwiz T2/T3

Started by Rob VDN on Beyonwiz

6 Replies
1229 Views
Last post December 24, 2017, 07:59:27 AM
by IanL-S
xx
Picture too big - overscanning T2

Started by GeoffU on Beyonwiz

2 Replies
1020 Views
Last post September 23, 2017, 12:20:39 PM
by prl