Author Topic: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working  (Read 4610 times)

Offline gemini67

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« on: June 12, 2009, 10:36:06 AM »
Good morning all, this is my first post here as just recently got a BW DP-P1, so apologies if this is a dumb question but it just seems a little weird to me.

Everything has bene set up and orking good, the only question is how do I know that the guide that I am seeing is that from IceTV and not just the free over the air guide.  When I first got the unit and saw the guide I thought great, but then signed up with IceTV and checked the guide again and it looks exactly the same.

I have gone into the IceTV settings and asked it to 'check' and it can ping the server ok but I'm just not sure if it is actually getting down to my BW

Thanks

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2009, 11:32:45 AM »
If it was the FTA guide, some descriptions are limited to the EIT short event descriptor amount of 249bytes for both name & description, and so truncated mid sentence from some broadcasters (EIT standards, not a wiz bug).   If the broadcaster would use the Extended event descriptor, like ICE does, that description bumps up to 3,700ish characters!    Another tell-tale sign of FTA is UPPERCASE TITLES FOR SHOW NAMES for Nein especially, and USELESS SHOW NAMES LIKE "MIDDAY MOVIE".    Ice would put something like Movie:Movie Name
But if your ICE option is enabled in the Wiz, then it will definitely be using the ICE EPG.   It can disable itself if there are communication issues to the ICE servers (such as you hadn't connected a network connection I think... this was the behaviour a year or two ago anyway!).   You can tell if it is enabled or disabled simply by checking the ICE setup menu in your Wiz.   Other checks to give you peace of mind is the status messages you are getting in that status window in the setup menu, and timers showing up when you use ICE to set series recordings, one off recordings and keyword recordings.
Regards
Regards
edited to fix my "piece of mind" dyslexia with words!  I can spell, but for some reason now I seem to touch type not what is in my head... strange.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2009, 12:18:17 PM by tonymy01 »
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

Offline gemini67

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2009, 11:50:07 AM »
thats great thanks I'll check those out,  but from what you have already said it sounds as if it's the IceTV guide, strange though I thought they would have the IceTV logo somewhere on the guide.

thanks again

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2009, 12:20:40 PM »
All ICE does is loads EPG up into the PVR.   It is up to how the PVR displays the EPG, if the PVR loads the ICE data into its EIT tables (normal scheme I have seen for the Topfield 5K & Beyonwiz), then the display method the PVR uses doesn't have to change.

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3166
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2009, 12:29:27 PM »
You can see whether IceTV is running and fetching things by looking in the status window in SETUP>Network>IceTV, especially just after boot, and then by looking at the messages that tell you when the Beyonwiz will next contact IceTV, and using that to tell you when the status window will next have something interesting in it. It's a pity that the status window can't scroll over the last 20-30 lines of IceTV status.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline TripleJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2009, 10:45:45 AM »
Wondered the exact same thing when I set my beyonwiz up a couple of weeks ago gemini :)
I expected to see the name IceTV or a logo on the EPG, was puzzled for awhile.

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: How do I know if The IceTV EPG is Working
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2009, 11:11:59 AM »
Would ICE putting "(C) ICETV Australia" in every guide entry like Nein and Ten do make you happier :-).


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Is the Ellen show repeat?

Started by csutak40 on IceTV EPG Content

1 Replies
129 Views
Last post July 03, 2019, 09:00:18 PM
by Tiphanee
xx
Graham Norton Show Friday 28th June

Started by simoncasey on IceTV EPG Content

0 Replies
124 Views
Last post June 29, 2019, 12:05:53 PM
by simoncasey
xx
SBS Network shows for Sunday & later

Started by BazzaG on IceTV EPG Content

5 Replies
202 Views
Last post June 12, 2019, 03:42:27 PM
by BazzaG
xx
AFN Fishing Show - repeat

Started by aeb001 on IceTV EPG Content

4 Replies
215 Views
Last post May 14, 2019, 11:50:08 PM
by Tiphanee