Author Topic: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"  (Read 5912 times)

Offline ebden

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« on: January 04, 2010, 08:28:48 PM »
It was a great idea for a Christmas present, but its now 10 days later and still no response from Ice TV about my non-functioning DP-P2. All I can get is a support person saying you will have to contact the office when they re-open. No reply to my emails so far, so I rang this evening and got an assurance that they will contact me tomorrow... They seem very keen to sell the product but not so responsive when it goes wrong! The website says that they are available, but calls result in an answering message only.
I'm now back at work so its much harder to sort it out.
Why can't IceTV provide full customer service at the time when presents are likely to be opened?
ebden

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2010, 10:52:50 AM »
HDD Not Initialised can often be fixed by formatting the internal HDD.

Use SETUP>System>HDD>HDD Format

If that doesn't fix the problem, try calling Beyonwiz Support 1300 889 803. The problem may be a dead HDD or that the connection from motherboard to HDD isn't working properly.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline ebden

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2010, 06:57:34 PM »
OK Peter, but with no display on screen, and no response to the remote, how do I set up etc?

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 07:17:53 PM »
OK Peter, but with no display on screen, and no response to the remote, how do I set up etc?
The way it says in the manual.

Chapter 4 Quick Setup - section 1-1. Quick Setup of Video Output Format.

Use the TV-OUT button on the remote. Note what it says about using TV-OUT in the notes for the section.

Offline ebden

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2010, 09:46:58 PM »
End of Day 11
With the DP-P2 plugged in, HDMI cable in, correct input setting on TV; the display flashes <12.00AM> and the TV shows "no signal".
When the central blue button is pressed, the display on PVR shows:
< WELCOME
< LOADING
< 01.05.304
< START
< SD PAL
each quite briefly, and no response to pressing TV OUT on the remote, [batteries OK]
then < HDD not initialized > which scrolls continuously and does not respond to remote. TV display is still no signal.

I am advised by IceTV that this sounds like a problem for Beyonwiz to fix...
All I want is to use the flipping thing! any suggestions?

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2010, 10:56:51 PM »
There was a second part to my original suggestion.

Offline jillmess

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2010, 09:12:40 AM »
< SD PAL
  This bit means you are not on the correct TV output if you are connecting via HDMI

Quote
and no response to pressing TV OUT on the remote
  You need to press the TVout button, wait a few seconds, then if still no output to TV, press it again (for as many times as it takes to get a picture).  It cycles through a series of connection options - the one you want will probably be HDMI PAL.

Offline tonymy01

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 740
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2010, 10:03:48 AM »
And then choose to accept that setting, if you don't the Wiz reverts to your original setting.
Regards
Tony

Beyonwiz DP-S1 & Topfield 5K (using PerlTGD to upload ICE EPG/timers for the 5K, normal ICE interactive for the Wiz).

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: DP-P2 unresponsive "-HDD not initialized-"
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2010, 11:45:17 AM »
...
Quote
and no response to pressing TV OUT on the remote
  You need to press the TVout button, wait a few seconds, then if still no output to TV, press it again (for as many times as it takes to get a picture).  It cycles through a series of connection options ...

As it says in the manual section I referred ebden to.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Beyonwiz DP-P2 With 5 Years of IceTV

Started by Paul55 on Beyonwiz

8 Replies
3407 Views
Last post June 23, 2014, 10:32:58 PM
by Dalez
xx
Beyonwiz DP-P2 "Failed to get a channel list"

Started by MagicTyger on Beyonwiz

8 Replies
18859 Views
Last post March 12, 2012, 10:11:34 PM
by toppytools
xx
Beyonwiz DP-P2 Set Top Box PVR with 500GB HDD - $299 on Catch of the Day today

Started by bodogbodog on Beyonwiz

8 Replies
8934 Views
Last post October 10, 2013, 06:36:13 AM
by bodogbodog
xx
DP-P2 & ICE. all shows show up as qued.

Started by deanfurley on Beyonwiz

12 Replies
4671 Views
Last post March 11, 2010, 10:26:03 AM
by prl