Author Topic: Another failed to get channel list  (Read 5727 times)

Offline Briar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Another failed to get channel list
« on: February 28, 2012, 06:34:14 PM »
I have a dp lite I ,

Connected to the Internet via a netgear 2001 wireless router,

I can ...
Use wiztv, access network shares etc
If I try to get to ice tv I get various errors from 'failed to get channel list' to network failures

It doesn't  make a difference if I have the dns as the local router or external dns server other than the length of time it takes to get the error message.

Also when using the wiztv it appears to always fail the first time with failed to load page, but the 2nd go it connects.

Any ideas

Thanks
Matt

Offline Dave at IceTV

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 1258
    • View Profile
    • IceTV Knowledgebase Articles
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 07:09:41 PM »
Definitely seems like a DNS issue, possibly just the primary DNS. Ice Guide on a Beyonwiz only tries the primary DNS, whereas WizTV and Network Time each try both the primary and secondary DNS. If the primary DNS is incorrect or offline this can cause Ice Guide to fail even though WizTV and Network Time still work.

It could be due to our server migration last week - maybe your chosen primary DNS hasn't caught up yet.

Try 8.8.8.8 as the primary DNS.

Do you have DHCP set to Enable?  Have you tried turning off all network devices and rebooting the router, then turning on the Beyonwiz after the router has come back on fully?
cheers

Dave
Customer Service

Offline Briar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 07:49:00 PM »
Thanks Dave

The pvr won't let me enter 8.8.  It requires all 3 positions so it's .008.008 ... Which doesn't work, but I have tried direct entry of open dns and iinets , but as soon as you get a 2digit octet you have to put a 0 in front so it won't resolve I guess,

I have set the local network up with 3 in each octet so it appears to work for the wiz tv etc, When the manual dns is set to the local gate way

I agree it probably is dns issues but Im lost as to which way to go. I have just done a reboot of very thing but  no luck I guess I just need the right combination

Thanks

Matt

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 10:30:49 PM »
Beyonwiz needs to have all 3-digit octets in any IP addresses, so 008.008.008.008 should be correct, and similarly for things like 010.001.001.001.

However, if you set the DNS up manually, you also need to set up the gateway and netmask correctly.
Peter
Beyonwiz T4 in-use
Beyonwiz T2, T3 & T4 for testing

Offline Briar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2012, 05:52:27 PM »
Peter
with iinet as my isp 8.8.8.8 resolves ok but 008.008.008.008 doesn't, but with telstra both ip address resolve ok.
if i use opendns 208.67.222.222 i can ping ok but if i use 208.067.222.222 as required by the pvr it doesn't resolve ok

so where the issue is, is the question , you would think that if it was iinet not resolving correctly there would be a few more people screaming, so at this stage
I'm still looking for suggestions

That said i have rebooted everything turned them upside down before restarting etc!
 
Matt

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #5 on: February 29, 2012, 05:57:39 PM »
I'm using the default iiNet DHCP DNS (which points my devices at my router for DNS, which then passes it on and I'm not having any IceTvV problems (apart from the ones I've been grumbling about here, and they have nothing to do with DNS or any other cause of failed channel list download).

The DNS settings on the router are:
Primary DNS:  203.0.178.191
Secondary DNS:  203.215.29.191


Edit: Hmmm, I just checked, and my DP-Lite is showing the wonderfully informative error message in the status panel in SETUP>Network>IceTV:
Code: [Select]
MSG: ""and when I try SETUP>Network>IceTV>Check user information I get the almost equally (un)informative
Code: [Select]
Check failed with unknown error
It was working earlier today when I set up a new series recording and its timer got set as normal.
« Last Edit: February 29, 2012, 06:06:05 PM by prl »

Offline Briar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #6 on: February 29, 2012, 06:41:53 PM »
Peter
If I understand on the pvr are you have  dhcp enabled and and have no manual configuration set on the pvr.

In one of the many combinations I have received the "" message,
Out of interest can you ping 008.008 with your iinet connection

Thanks

Matt



Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #7 on: February 29, 2012, 07:32:25 PM »
Peter
If I understand on the pvr are you have  dhcp enabled and and have no manual configuration set on the pvr.
No, I don't have manual DNS configuration. I said that I use DHCP (automatic) configuration.
In one of the many combinations I have received the "" message,
Out of interest can you ping 008.008 with your iinet connection

Thanks

Matt
Whether you can ping 8.8.8.8 is independent of whether iiNets DNS works or not. Pinging an IP address (as opposed to a DNS name), doesn't use DNS. But anyway:
Code: [Select]
Cambyses:~ prl$ ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=0 ttl=58 time=35.503 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=35.303 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=35.469 ms
^C
--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0.0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 35.303/35.425/35.503/0.087 ms
Cambyses:~ prl$
MacBook Pro, OS X 10.7.3.

Pinging 008.008.008.008 on my Mac doesn't work:
Code: [Select]
Cambyses:~ prl$ ping 008.008.008.008
ping: cannot resolve 008.008.008.008: Unknown host
Cambyses:~ prl$ ping x.y.x
ping: cannot resolve x.y.x: Unknown host
Cambyses:~ prl$
It looks as though ping might be trying to look up 008.008.008.008 as a DNS name rather than use it as an IP address. You should only use the leading-zero form on the Beyonwiz, not on computers.

Offline markb

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #8 on: February 29, 2012, 09:05:25 PM »
It looks as though ping might be trying to look up 008.008.008.008 as a DNS name rather than use it as an IP address.

The leading zero means the number is parsed as octal, i.e. base 8. E.g. try "ping 010.010.010.010" and you will see it pinging 8.8.8.8, as does "ping 0x8.0x8.0x8.0x8".

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #9 on: February 29, 2012, 11:12:04 PM »
It looks as though ping might be trying to look up 008.008.008.008 as a DNS name rather than use it as an IP address.

The leading zero means the number is parsed as octal, i.e. base 8. E.g. try "ping 010.010.010.010" and you will see it pinging 8.8.8.8, as does "ping 0x8.0x8.0x8.0x8".
Yes, but 8 wasn't a valid octal digit last time I checked. The error message appears to be about a DNS lookup. It's the same message as for pinging a non-existent DNS name (ping x.y.z). Pinging a non-existent IP address does something else entirely:
Code: [Select]
Cambyses:~ prl$ ping 111.111.111.111
PING 111.111.111.111 (111.111.111.111): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
^C
--- 111.111.111.111 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
Cambyses:~ prl$

Offline markb

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #10 on: February 29, 2012, 11:24:34 PM »
Yes, but 8 wasn't a valid octal digit last time I checked. The error message appears to be about a DNS lookup. It's the same message as for pinging a non-existent DNS name (ping x.y.z).

Ping agrees with you that the "8" in the octal number is invalid but then seems to report all host name errors generically as "unknown host". Odd I know but it  reports the same on my linux and mac machines. I can measure the execution time and find ping runs 30 times faster reporting the unknown host error for the invalid "8" then it does for a bogus name where it incurs the extra round trip time to the DNS server.

Offline Briar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2012, 05:57:09 PM »
Well I have noticed that as I try to connect I get
 try to retrieve device list,
Retrieved device list
Try to get channel list , this fails

Any thoughts

Offline prl

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3190
    • View Profile
Re: Another failed to get channel list
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2012, 10:58:11 PM »
The problems I was having with IceTV yesterday have now gone, but I had to disable/enable it to get it fired up again. Before I did that, I did a Check User, and that also worked OK.

But I think the problem I had was probably different from the problem raised in this topic.


Share via facebook Share via twitter

xx
Gotham - another incorrect repeat flag

Started by vader1111 on IceTV EPG Content

3 Replies
776 Views
Last post March 13, 2017, 11:37:39 AM
by Tiphanee
xx
Another skippa up for grabs

Started by Neutroness on SKIPPA

0 Replies
1177 Views
Last post January 09, 2016, 09:55:13 PM
by Neutroness
xx
another bug 1110604

Started by warkus on SKIPPA

2 Replies
1240 Views
Last post October 20, 2015, 11:42:32 AM
by warkus
xx
Changing ALL recordings scheduled in IceTV to Skippa from another device

Started by injidup on SKIPPA

3 Replies
1500 Views
Last post July 20, 2015, 06:23:19 PM
by injidup